My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Tuesday, Jan. 01, 2002 - 8:41 A.M.

2002!

I don't know that I'm any gladder to be finished with 2001 as I have been with any other year. Of course there were bad things. In fact, duh, there were horrible things like 9/11 and the cancer scare and the fire that destroyed #1's house. But. There has been a huge resurgence in patriotism, we are seeing a huge rise in the sales of Bibles, church attendance is up and people are spending more time with their families. I don't take for granted my health, I am working to improve that, and MOTH decided that perhaps the third time IS a charm and he proposed to me. And the kids have seen first hand that all of the wealth that their dad had is short term, vulnerable and pretty meaningless in terms of happiness. Those horrible events opened our eyes to some positive things if only we have the courage to look.

SO now we have a fresh year. Whew. I rang it in with tradition. I sat through hours and hours of Marx Brothers films, just like I did when I was in high school. And I remembered how I explained all of the behind-the-scenes goings on to my brother who giggled and cackled through every film. Last night I got to show off some of my Marx-knowledge to MOTH, and it felt good. The kids all were away. Beast with her best friend for an overnight. Finchie with his dad (but he called just before and just after midnight to tell me he loved me), and Eldest was over at the girlfriend's. I was a little worried with him driving home amidst all of the drunken drivers, but he was home by 12:30, so most of those folks were probably still having one for the road. He called me before he left for home, to wish me happy new year, and to give MOTH and I some advance notice that he was on his way! ;-) I spent the night in the arms of the man I love, the man with whom I plan to be with forever.

And today I am busy making my grandfather's version of chop-suey, a tradition that began with his father and has been passed down through the years to me. I am the only one of my siblings to know the recipe, probably because I am the only one of the siblings to like it! It's pretty Americanized. No, it's VERY Americanized. But it has a secret Chinese flavoring, that I don't share with anyone outside of my family. I am thankful that my children like it, because the tradition can live on.

Happy New Year. Let's eat!


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter