My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Tuesday, Dec. 28, 2004 - 3:57 P.M.

Goodbye 2004



That's one bad wave, man. What a way to end the year, it's a year I won't miss. I'll be saying goodbye to too many dying youths, mortgage hell (do NOT ever do business with Washington Mutual), political arguments that got insane, many spilled tears, my dad's heart attack, a new furnace (Thanksgiving weekend)...

On the other hand, 2004 did give me my baby Dylan, another beautiful baby named Maximillian, my father's recuperation, a major surprise award at my company's Christmas Party for Excellence in Curriculum Development, a new(er) car to replace the FUV and the Crapmobile. OK, so the good stuff outweighed the bad, but the bad stuff sure cost a buttload of money.

Speaking of money, do what you can for the victims of the killer wave in Asia. What fascinatingly horrible images met me this morning when I turned on the news. The number, originally at 20,000 this morning and growing to its present 52,000. Amazing how the actual wave was caught on tape, gut wrenching to actually see people swept away, arms reaching out from the current in an attempt to grab safety, bodies floating face down. Despite the U.N.'s bullshit nasty attitude, I am proud that we have committed $20 million on top of the original $15, with more to come. It doesn't do anything to help with the grief though.

We're not the only ones helping. Qatar is sending $13 million), as is Saudi Arabia. Kuwait's government said it was sending $1.3 million, and then doubled the figure to $2.6 million) today. That's what I found out with a quick look at articles, I am sure there is more.

Here's a link to help with whatever you can.

UPDATE 12/30/2004: The death count is now anywhere between 114,000 and 120,000 depending on the source, far too many by anyone's opinion. The world's nations have collectively gathered and pledged $500 million. Even still, the U.S. is taking the rap for giving the lowest per capita amount...I wonder if anyone has taken into account that we also are involved in a war and have our own to protect? Nah, that would only make sense. Why dosen't the UN do the right thing and take the billions they stole from the Iraqi children and donate those profits to the victims? I'm sure the amounts have changed, but the other night, it was reported that Japan was second to the U.S. in money donanted, with Australia a very distant third ($9 million, no chump change). As that was reported, France's commitment was reported to be $135,000. Yeah, that's right. But dump on the U.S.


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
8 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter