My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Wednesday, Nov. 12, 2003 - 8:45 P.M.

IbeBackToSchool???


Ok, call me crazy, but I really have the occasional itch to go back and get another degree. My first choice would be to get my Ph.D.. in Speech, and to do my research dissertation on some facet of Asperger's Syndrome or Autism or maybe the role of language in Behavior Disorders. Then again, I think I have enough skill to be a good supervisor or school administrator, and I'd need my Type 75 certificate, which doesn't require a Ph.D.., but possibly a second Masters, in Educational Administration.

But then the reality of school hits like, when today for example, I sat for 4 hours listening to a lecture on Asperger's Syndrome, and it was mind blurring in its boringness. They didn't cover what I'd hoped, so I had to sit there and try to make it look like I was awake, and I began thinking things like NO WAY COULD I GO BACK TO SCHOOL! Shit.

I love my job this year more than any other. But it's because I have an assistant who does my therapy, and I get to do what I think I do best: I plan, I assess, I write reports, I generate goals, I consult, I give tours, I meet with parents and district coordinators, I come up with good ideas, I confer with other professionals, I generate materials, I find resources... I do a lot. More than just the therapy. And I do it well. But I am afraid that because I do what I do well, and I make it really easy for my assistant to do what she needs to do, that we are making it look really easy...so easy that at the end of the year they will pull her away and say that I'm there to do the therapy. I do so much behind the scenes to make things happen. But I don't think I am fully appreciated by the ones who control the purse strings. And I won't be anywhere else either unless i have another, different, piece of paper which has nothing to do with what I know or what I can do.

I think I am too old and worse, too undisciplined, to go back to school now. Heck, I can't even update this site regularly, I have such long lapses. If I had any kind of self discipline or drive or SPINE I'd try to get a job writing, but I know I'd never make it. Writing will never be more than a hobby or a part time thing for me. Maybe in my next lifetime I'll so more with that idea.

I'll be spending the next 2 days at the American Speech Language and Hearing Association Convention in Chicago. In the past, I would have just not gone and taken the days off, or gone and just visited the booths and found friends and hung around. But I want to learn more about supervision and the Asperger's Syndrome, I'm fascinated by it. We'll see if I'm fascinated enough to actually attend on Saturday, I'm thinking probably not.

And I won't be counting my points while I'm there either!


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter