My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Sunday, Nov. 25, 2001 - 8:40 P.M.

Back On Line


Sometime I frighten myself. Nah, not really. But I do surprise myself sometimes, and sometimes I even impress myself, and I can occasionally be a bit proud of what I can do. Take the recent computer crash. The one that NO ONE caused (GOSH I hate that "No one" person!).

Anyway, the computer really was acting weird, and when I ran a scan disk on it, it renamed about 25% of my directories. I kept at it, trying to get the drivers for the dsl modem re-recognized. I uninstalled, reinstalled, and each time I rebooted I was met with another error message, none of them making much sense. Finally, after putting it to rest for a day, I decided to go down to the command prompt in dos, and to reinstall windows from the cabs files in the windows/options directory. Oh. Did I tell you that I misplaced, about a year ago, the recovery disk for this computer and I am told that I cannot get another one? That's yet another reason why I won't buy from Best Buy (and in this case, Micron) again. I apparently can't even BUY a freaking recovery disk. And none of my Windows 98 CDs were wanting to work, the one I thought was a bootable CD isn't. Crap again.

So, about 77% of the way to reinstalling the windows cabs files, it tells me that the CD is dirty, to remove it, clean it, and continue. Gee, that's odd, there is no CD being used. After I got that error message twice, I decided to screw it and rebooted. Up came windows! Error free! Still no dsl. No matter what.

I asked MOTH to deal with Ameriblech since he was once a help desk techie and seems to be far more patient than I. He did good, we got the site to go to on our dial up to get the dsl modem drivers, and got them loaded. All that worked. Got our account all set up...and then it said that it had an invalid connection. When I tried to connect it said something about an invalid TAP layer. So I brought up the internet account info, tried looking at everything and trying to make sense of it. When I looked at the advanced settings of the connection settings, I saw this little box, and it had 2 radio buttons. The "filter driver" was checked and the "protocol driver" was not.

Hmmmmmmmmmmmm....

Seems to me that TCP and PPP all have a "P" that stands for "protocol" so I unchecked the filter and checked the protocol. MOTH smiled at me and said, "You're just guessing now, right?" And I smiled back, ready to confess.

But then it suddenly lit up and said "authenticating." WEE HEE! WOOHOO! I AM good! All those years I spent touching every button I passed and trying to figure out how everything worked really did pay off and carried over into my adult life. I may not always know exactly what to do, but I'm not afraid to try, and usually, more often than not, I can get things back in working order!

Now if only my house were made with buttons. I'd have it fixed up in no time!


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter