My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Monday, Feb. 18, 2002 - 8:05 P.M.

BOOBS!


Tomorrow morning, my good cyber-friend-sister COSMICRAYOLA is having her boobs removed. Voluntarily. The technical term is "bilateral prophylactic mastectomy," which basically means that with her family history and current symptoms, it is very likely that she will at some point develop breast cancer, so she is heading it off at the pass. I urge you to read about it in her own words.

I don't know if I would have the courage to do what she is doing. No, check that. I KNOW I wouldn't have the courage. Not that I think breasts are all that important. I don't. (Of course, that's kind of easy to say when you are an "A" cup.) No, my fears would be all needle based. I couldn't bring myself to voluntarily go under the knife. I wish I were stronger.

Aren't breasts a quirky thing? I used to think mine were cute. "Perky" was the word I used, but that was before children. Now they more closely resemble windsocks.

I chose to decorate mine by applying my legacy. Each image has a meaning. The roses are me and my true love (MOTH), crossed near the top which symbolizes our coming together. All but 1 of the thorns are before the two roses cross. The thorns represent hurt. The rose buds are my children. The two buds off of one stem are my twins BEAST and FINCHIE. There is a ladybug on one of the leaves, that's my grandma. The leaves falling represent the babies I have lost. I will never be embarrassed nor ashamed of what I carry on my left breast.


I just found out that one of the ladies I work with has the largest breasts I have ever been in the same room with! I was lamenting about how designers apparently don't realize that fat does not necessarily mean busty, and I have had to go to wearing a "B" cup padded bra to accommodate my back size (So I am now wearing a 38B but only in the padded styles or they are baggy). She confided in me that she wears a size "G". A G! GEE! Carumba. She is not happy with them, she wishes she could give me some. I can't imagine having too much boob, but there ya go.

And now I know someone who is giving them up all together. Good for you Cosmic. I admire you, Karen. And my prayers are with you as you face this.


The graphic at the top of the page is from an advertisement for a film called BREASTS by Meema Spadola. Breasts, is an hour-long documentary interviewing twenty-two women - ranging in age from 6 years old to 84, discusses how breasts play a crucial role in the experiences of puberty, motherhood, sex, health, and aging. The documentary also includes archival footage - ranging from racy 1920s cartoon to bra commercials to 1950s beauty pageants - that serve as chapter headings throughout the film. It is worth a look see.


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter