My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Wednesday, Nov. 03, 2004 - 10:29 P.M.

I Can Breathe



Wow. I am relieved. I am happy that for the second time in 20 years of voting, I cast a winning vote for President. I am glad that John Kerry allowed the voters to decide and not lawyers. I think he did the right thing, and let's face it folks, he would not have conceded the election if he thought he had a chance of winning with a recount. It's naive to think otherwise. He did the right thing.


And now with my sigh of relief comes the wailing of the anti-Bush league. I know their pain, I experienced it for 20 years. I know what it's like to fully support one candidate and have him lose. I know what it's like to mistrust and despise the man in office. I also know that gnashing my teeth did no good.


You don't like the results? You can cry or you can get on board OR you can do something to change what you don't like. If you can't run for office yourself, then get off your couch and do some research and find someone who you can get behind and then work your tail off for that person. Work to get the word out. Even then you might not win. So give up or keep going until you are heard. Or wail and gnash. Or, as some suggest, move to Canada.


Moving to Canada seems a tad irrational (do you have any idea how many bloggers, mostly under the age of 25, are threatening to do that? Buh-bye).


I don't agree with all of Bush's views, by the way. In fact, his desire to amend the Constitution to ban gay marriages is something I am very much against. But I have faith that it will not happen, because...hello...the President, even one as "evil" and "conniving" as GW can't just go out and amend the Constitution on his own. He can't. As a good friend of mine aptly pointed out, not only are the courts ready to defend the Constitution and the laws of our Country, we have the media with it's probes and exposes on anything remotely on the down and out. If you really honestly think that GW has the ability to wreak havoc on this Country unchecked, then you 1) don't want to face facts, and 2) you are suddenly giving this man, who just days ago you accused of being stupid, a hell of a lot of credit for brilliance.
I love my Country. I love my Flag. I wave it proudly. I am proud to be an American. I was proud even when I was ashamed of the person in office. I happen to like, not love, this President. I trust him because of the Constitution and the laws protecting it. I applaud his open Christianity and would like to pint out that the 1st Amendment says:


Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.


That means he is free to exercise his beliefs, I am free to use the term "under God," and you don't have to if you choose not to.


I'm going to bed. I had a very rough day at work. A teacher was hurt, and that's upsetting. Several kids had meltdowns, that's upsetting. I had a surprise visit from Central administration at a really shitty time of day, that was upsetting. I stayed at work until 8PM and I'm going in at 6AM and that's upsetting.


I'm just not going to be upset about the President for another 4 years, and hopefully beyond. And you have the freedom to do the same or not.


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
4 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter