My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Sunday, Apr. 21, 2002 - 9:35 P.M.

Can She Be Me?


My good friend and cyber-sister Cosmicrayola did a post the other day about Operation Doppelganger. Based on the theory that somewhere in the world there is another person that looks like you, she asked for pictures so she could make some body double matches. Being the lethargic putz I am, I didn't send her one, so she gleaned the WORST picture she could find of me from my on-line photo album. The one where I am dying my hair purple. And she matched me up with Harpo Marx. Actually, it wasn't such a bad match, and since he is my all time favorite Marx Brother (she did it before I posted about the Marx Brothers, some coincidence, huh?), I didn't mind the comparison at all. If you want to really read an interesting biography, read Harpo Speaks.

Anyway, the post made me think about a project I did for my family 2 Christmases ago. I made a book. I made a questionnaire that I and each of my siblings filled out about ourselves. I asked really important questions like how we each got our name, how we eat Oreo's, favorite pizza topping, earliest memories, food we won't eat, favorite food, favorite color, worst job held, childhood fears and admirations, first friends, first car...that kind of stuff. This part of the book took up almost three whole pages for each person, and at the end of the third page I wrote a special message to them, about them. The fourth page was made up of memories contributed by the whole family. I asked the sibs, mom and dad, nieces, nephews and spouses for specific types of memories and edited it down to page of the best stuff for each of us. I added a memory page for mom and one for dad, printed it out in color with graphics and had it bound for each sibling and my parents. It was HUGE project, and by far my favorite gift given ever. I gave it to them at the dinner table at our annual Christmas Eve dinner, after the kids tore their gifts open. We sat there for hours and hours...laughing, sharing, remembering. The next generation was having just as much fun listening to us and laughing at the stories of when we were young. My parents were basking in the glory of what they had produced. I was very proud of that gift.

Now here's the part where I ruin things, because that is really a wonderful memory, but you are probably wondering just what the heck this has to do with Cosmic's diary. Well, one of the more interesting questions I asked was, if our family's life were on the big screen, which actor would play each of the siblings?

Everyone gave this question a lot of thought. It was the hardest one I think, for almost everyone. Not knowing my sibs, it would make little sense to share with you the choices given for them. As much as I love my baby sister, it's rough being in the shape I am in, because she is beautiful and thin. The actresses chosen for her were Loretta Young (my dad's suggestion), Audry Hepburn, Sandra Bullock (2 votes), Cameran Diaz, and Winona Ryder (5 votes). That should give you an idea of how she looks.

Ok.

For me? Without hesitation, dad blurts out "Roseanne!" Then I think he realized his social blunder, and added, "No offense." ~sigh~ Not a problem, dad. Some of the ideas were very, ummm....OUT there! Like Vivian Leigh, because my like is such a drama, I guess. And Estelle Harris, the screaming mother on Seinfeld. I still don't get that one. The Rosie O'Donnell suggestion was closer. Penny Marshall???? Bette Middler was an interesting suggestion. I was more pleased with Kathy Najimy. And then I sorta got excited when I got the votes for Rachel Dretch, Gilda Radner, and Molly Shannon from Saturday Night Live. I felt like the casting was getting away from my outer shell and closer to my personality.

And then I got a few votes for....Cheri O'Teri. Yes!

Now look, I know that I have a weight problem, but I honestly think that the O'Teri is one I would to portray me in the movies. I think she is a hoot. I've seen her do a few interviews, and I think we have a lot in common. We both are short. We both have green eyes. Our sense of humor and delivery is comparable. And here is a picture that MOTH took of me 3 1/2 years ago on New Year's Eve. It happens to be his very favorite picture of me, by the way. I was about 30-40 pounds lighter than I am now. My ideal weight is about 20 pounds lighter than this. Now if you compare this with the picture at the top, it's not TOO far of a stretch, is it?



TODAY'S QUOTE

"If you can't be a good example, then you'll just have to be a horrible warning."

*Catherine Aird*


The Digital Bastard's Claim as of date 4/20/02:

Beginning Weight: 204.5

Goal #1: 184

Total lost: 15.0

Pounds to go: 5.5


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter