My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Sunday, Jan. 19, 2003 - 9:33 A.M.

Considering Forever


Last night we went out to dinner with Pitbull and her hubby and Chicky and her man. He's a looker, as is she. Actually, one of the reasons we went out (primarily to celebrate Pitbull passing her test and officially receiving her type 75 School Admin certificate), was to check out this "Dougie" guy that Chicky's been seeing. He passed. Easily.

In our drunken silliness, we spent a lot of time in the women's washroom, together in the handicapped stall. In between feeling each others boobs (or in my case, padding), we pumped Chicky for some info, things like does she love him. She said yes. We discussed othr things like "forever" and how they would make some beautiful children, and I think we scared her a bit. It's really harder for women, wanting kids and hearing the clock tick and at the same time wanting to be really secure and sure, so as not to make the same mistakes I've made. I mean really, one shouldn't have a hat-trick wedding, you know? And Dougie hasn't been sure that he's ready, and I respect that honesty.

So, to Doug and Chicky, I again pass on to you the questions that I believe need to be addressed when considering FOREVER. There are billions of books out on the subject, there are counselors dying to take your money to help you figure it out. But really, it isn't hard if you are willing and brave enough to answer these 5 questions completely and honestly. Then share your answers with each other. That's the scary part, because if you really want it to work, you have to be able to accept the fact that it just might not be right for you two. Ignoring red-flag answers is pretty much an invitation to failure. Of course, one of the assumptions prior to taking the IbePreMarital Quiz is that you are in love and considering the Forever step.

That being said, here is the Offical

IbePigletPreMaritalForeverCompatabilityQuestionaire

1. Are your life goals similar, compatible or contradictory? Where you want to live, the type of job you want, material things (who wins in the event of a draw?), CHILDREN which includes not just yes/no or how many, but WHO raises the kids, day care or parent, schooling, religion...

2. Do you like each other enough to enjoy boredom together? I mean can you handle EXTENSIVE down time together? Because at some point in your lives, you will either not have the money or the time or the energy to be going out. Scrabble anyone?

3. Do you like each other enough for Forever? FOREVER. The romance comes and goes. But the LIKE is the glue. Look at that picture above. That's a forever vision. With age, things fade, slide, droop, sag, wrinkle, shrivel and shrink. Can you see yourselves in that picture up there (aside from them being white)?

4. This is the critical question. In the worst case scenario, which could happen sooner (illness or injury) or later (age)... could you, would you, be able to change your partner's diapers?

And most importantly:

5. Can you count on your partner changing yours?

I doubt any therapist or book could come up with a better list of questions. Good luck Chicky and Dougie.


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter