My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Saturday, Dec. 08, 2001 - 8:35 A.M.

Cotton Mouthed Dreams


What a dream. You ever have a dream that makes no sense at all, I mean NONE yet while you are in it...it all seems very normal? I have these sensory dreams often. Like this one last night. I needed water. Badly. Note: My daily liquid intake wouldn't keep a saturated sponge moist. My typical day includes 2-3 cups of coffee in the morning, and 1-2 diet sodas at school. If I have a bowl of cereal in the evening, I put milk on it (I love milk). SO I have come to realize that once I leave work at 3:30, I stop consuming liquids, including at dinner! (Note to JES who I KNOW will read this and scold me AGAIN for not drinking water: I KNOW!)

I suppose it wouldn't take a rocket scientist to figure that since I had a popcorn snack in the evening, that perhaps the dream was my body's cry of dehydration. Anyway, I was seeking water, but the thing is that the water was all around me. Not only could I see it, I could smell it and in a way that only makes sense in a dream, I could ALMOST taste it..and yet I couldn't.

It reminds me of a phenomenon that used to happen a lot as a kid, and sometimes now, but REAL often then. We'd go somewhere, like Brookfield Zoo, which a good example because it would always be on the hottest day of the year. We only went to that Zoo because Lincoln Park Zoo was in the city, and dad wouldn't go into the city unless we hog-tied him and threw him on the train. That's another story. ANYway...We'd park at the entrance near the big "Roosevelt Fountain." I'd no sooner see it than my throat would close and be tongue would completely dry out and I'd start the whine. "I'm thiiiiiiiiiiiiiiirrrrrrrrrrrrsssssssty!" And I REALLY was! It was an ache, a thirst that came from my ankles. I'd look at the fountain and long for a taste. And I would be denied. First of all, the fountain water was obviously not clean (DAMN having a mother who was a nurse!). Secondly, the taste of "Chicago water" to a suburbanite's palate is...like pure chlorine bleach, so the free water fountains were out. Third, the idea of paying $1.00 (or more) for a soda made my father break out in his own dehydrating sweat. I'm talking about 1960's prices! Today's prices would put him right over the edge. So he would hustle me past the fountain, and the pouting and whimpering lasted only as long as it took to find a gorilla or giraffe.

That is, until it was time to leave and we'd exit the same way we entered:

And he said what any good red-blooded American father would say: "You can have a drink when we get home."

~whimper~ "Are we almost home yet?????"

Thank GOD someone had the good sense to make carrying your own water supply a fashionable thing. It makes looking at fountains so much easier for me. Of course, I always carry some dollar bills because now I am the grown up and I can buy my OWN drink, DAMMIT! And I can even get myself a bottle of really cold, CLEAN (hi mom) and crisp water!


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter