My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Friday, Dec. 14, 2001 - 6:45 P.M.

The Almighty Flake

I love my job sometimes. The place where I work now is a private alternative day school for children with severe and profound behavior problems. Most of the students are aged kindergarten through 8th grade, but we also have students with "developmental disabilities" (e.g. autism, mental retardation, emotional handicaps) through age 20. Two of my kids will turn 21 before the end of the school year, but they can stay until the year ends. I'm not Annie Sullivan by any means, but I do love this population. You have to be able to see minutia, and celebrate it. If you can't, you burn out real fast. I know I irritate some of the negative folks there, few may their number be. I was trained a long time ago to find something positive about a kid, especially THESE kids who hear damned few positives in a day.

Hey, I like how you are sitting in your seat!
Look at those eyes, I love how you are looking at me! I appreciate how you didn't spit on me, but let's try not to spit on the table either, ok, buddy?
Who made your hair look so nice this morning? You look GREAT!

It's hard not to recoil when a 250 pound 20 year old with the cognitive ability of a 2 year old drools all over a lego and then hands it to you with a smile, or when he runs the length of the room and slams into you, wanting to play. But I stand there and welcome him. His drool doesn't matter because when he sees me he smiles an honest smile, and I know that he knows that I like him unconditionally. He gets very few genuine smiles at him during the course of his days, I'm sure. And the little guy who has a stomach tube and can't coordinate his muscles to swallow loves when I feed him, because I tell him when to open his mouth, when to close it, and when his lips have met. And I quietly let him know with eat mouthful that I think he is doing a wonderful job and I am proud of him. And he gives me a thumbs up after every swallow. I thank God every day that I don't have to work that hard to eat and drink.

Anyway, the classrooms have for years it seems, had door decorating contests at Christmas time and it is FIERCE! So I wanted to get into the act. I don't have a classroom, but I do have an office. So I talked one of our artistic teacher assistant's into drawing me an open mouth with a tongue hanging out. He didn't ask too many questions. I xeroxed the tongue onto cardstock and had each one of my speech students color a tongue (and uvula too if they wanted) and then glue on snowflakes and glitter. It was quite a detailed project. I hung them all on my "Door of Tongues." The staff didn't really take me seriously, I think, when I told them my plan.

Today we had a about an hour of snow. And I had this 8th grader in and he was making his tongue, and laughing a little about it. He's one of the "B.D." kids, a pretty sharp cookie, but in trouble all of the time, and he has some little things we work on in speech. And he asked why we were making these. I showed him the poster I made that said "Catch a snowflake on your tongue." He looked a little confused. I asked him if he had ever stood in the snow and caught a snowflake on his tongue. I was astounded to hear him say "No." WHAT? Never tasted a falling snowflake?!?!?!?

"Let's go," I said.

We went outside, no coats, and we stood in the parking lot getting all wet, and he opened his mouth up but had to be coached to stick out his tongue. Finally his tongue came out and then he giggled. With a big smile he looked down at me .

"Well?" I grinned. "What did it taste like?"

"Kinda like....water," he laughed.

"Exactly," I answered.

We went back in and he knew he was smarter and more worldly from the experience.

And THAT is why I love my job.


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter