My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Wednesday, Apr. 03, 2002 - 6:07 A.M.

Flipping the Bird


Yesterday morning when I peeked in on the little ones, I was shocked to see them all out of the nest. They've been sticking their little beaks out for a few days. Especially the ringleader, who perhaps hatched first and has been raring to get out of that crowded poopy nest. Anyway, I was looking at them, admiring them all...all of them...all...FIVE of them! Holy guacamole when the hell did we get a fifth bundle of down? I swear there were only four eggs in there! So was one of the eggs buried or do we have twins (do birds have twins?)? The thing is, little #5 is either a runt or hatched much later. He did NOT belong out of the nest yet, he has no feathers, just fluff. I don't think he left the nest on his own accord. I think he was flipped out! He didn't so much fly, as plummet! Poor little runtie thing. I was sure when I got home he would be dead. Poor MOTH. He'd have to take that poor lil dead runtie out of the cage when he got home. Oh, I love them, but I won't touch dead ones.

Contrary to my prediction, there were no carcasses this evening. It looked like they all somehow made it back up into the nest. But then about an hour later, I saw what really happened. Little runtie was hiding under one of the food cups. Scrawny and weak, he was all balled up and so lonely looking. So I set up a small nest for him, and when MOTH got home, he bravely scooped up the little guy and gingerly set him in his warm fluffy (clean) nest. How gentle those large hands are. No sooner had he settled in than he hopped back out. Oh well. A few minutes later he hopped back in and so it went for most of the evening. I had to stay up until I saw that he was being fed. He was all by himself cuddled into a small ball in his little nest this morning. There are only 3 babies left in the nest, one stays perched atop and then little runtie has the basement all to himself.

So now, with all babies visible, we have the original 2, their teenage offspring and the new 5 babies (total 9) in one cage. Over across the room, the Whitey finchies are still keeping their babes a secret. For the life of me I can't see more than fleshy lumps flopping around in there. I am certain I have seen at least 2 tiny beaks, maybe three. I know there were 3 or four eggs...but then I obviously am not very good at egg inventory.

I need to start calling some pet shops to see if they will take some of these guys off my hands. I'd just give them to the store. I'd hate to have to pay to put an ad in the paper for birds that I will likely have to give away for free. I can't let them go outside when it gets warm out. I don't think they'd survive. And since I wouldn't know for sure, I won't take a chance. When the new babes mature enough that we can identify gender, we will make unisex cages. That won't be hard for the really crowded cage. They are traditionally colored. But the Whitey cage...well, no one had them correctly identified, so who knows.

At any rate, they are a nice diversion to the diet, which is going well. I have gone to bed every night with no less than 2 food points banked, with the exception of Easter when I used bank points. This is, I believe, the longest I have stayed on a diet without any cheating at all. Maybe it's the Zoloft. Maybe it's Weight Watchers. Hey! Maybe I can be their poster child if I take off enough weight. Sure, I'm no Fergie, but I could compete with Jarod any day!


The Digital Bastard's Claim as of 4/1/02:

Beginning Weight: 204.5

Goal #1: 184

Total lost: 5 Pounds to go: 15.5


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter