My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Tuesday, Jun. 04, 2002 - 10:47 P.M.

SCHOOL'S OUT!


Yet another milestone passed this weekend. Eldest is no longer a high school student. I expected to be a bit more emotional about it, but I suppose the event itself provided a diversion from the momentousness of it all. For one thing, it was in the very same gymnasium I sat in 27 years ago (holy hell!). And really not much has changed.

The music was only marginally different. While I proceeded to "Pomp and Circumstance," these kids came in to "Sprint and Circumstance." This band director was in some kind of race with time! It's an odd site, witnessing 400 teenagers wind sprint to their seats.

From the first note, I postured like everyone else in the gym, seated tall and straining my neck to try and catch the first glimpse of my child in the hallway as he approached the entrance. Like my parents 27 years ago, I temporarily forgot that a quick alphabetical reality check could have eliminated about 10 minutes of neck strain. But then...there he was.

I did what my parents did all those years ago. Waved like an idiot, called out his name, tried to make him smile. He FINALLY looked over at me and gave me what I wanted. Acknowledgment in the form of his crooked smile. How sad that his father couldn't be bothered to haul his ass to be there. I wanted to make SURE he saw me and MOTH his grandparents and his aunt and uncle and cousins cheering his accomplishment. Of course, after he flashed me that gorgeous smile of his, he put on his game face, and took the rest of the ceremony seriously.
I, on the other hand, amused myself by cracking wise and entertaining my sister and niece who were behind me, and MOTH and my mom who were on either side. Talk about a people watching extravaganza. We had the misfortune of sitting on the bottom row in the bleachers, so everyone walked in front of us. I finally said a little too loudly, after this very pregnant woman stood in my way for the seventh time, that if she didn't sit her ass down I was going to knock her and her child into their seats. She didn't stand in front of me again. The speeches were brief and that was a good thing. Although, there was an audible moan when the valedictorian said," I looked up the word 'graduation' in the dictionary, and it said..." OH LORD! NOT a definition!!!! Other than that, though, it wasn't too bad.

There were 10 valedictorians. What the hell. And each one was introduced with a short biography. The principal is a dweeb who is retiring and it showed. At the end of each of the 10 bio's, he congratulated them with "the distinction of being number one." I began chanting that line with him after about the 5th one, and it caught on in our row so that by the final one, we were all saying it.

You know, kids aren't all that different. As a matter of fact, I think this graduating class was far better behaved and paid more attention than my class did back then. I doubt that anyone was "commando" under their robes. There was the obligatory crazy-hair guy. 27 years ago, it was my boyfriend who's red hair was down to his waist. This year, it was my nephew with bright blue braids.

As quickly as the kids proceeded into the gym, that's how fast they exited. Maybe faster. I'm thinking of hiring this guy to record a workout tape for me.

And then it was the photo-op moment. Since my newly quasi-adopted son (I've known him for 12 years and he calls me mom) has no biological parental representation, he took his photo op with eldest and me.

I don't understand how any parent misses such an event. This is the FROSTING, folks! This is the EASY stuff. This is when you sit back and smile or weep, but you don't have to worry and you don't have to coach or study or fear. You just sit there and watch your kid get some praise. You get to enjoy the results of the hard work that they (and you) have done. To miss such a thing is to miss out on the best part of parenting, and I'll never understand that. And neither will adopted son. He has moved in with us. And now we are six.


TODAY'S QUOTE

"To the uneducated, an A is just three sticks."

*A.A. Milne*


The Digital Bastard's Claim as of date 6/3/02:

Beginning Weight: 204.5

Goal #1: 184 (Met 5/19/02)

Goal #2: 164.5

Total lost: 23.5

Pounds to go for goal #2: 16.5

Pounds to go to my final target....56.0

I hope to meet my final target by May 1, 2003


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter