My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Wednesday, Apr. 03, 2002 - 7:14 P.M.

Houston, We've Got a Problem.


Good bye Houston.

I had to pick up my Beast this morning from school. She just found out that the boy she sat with every day at lunch had been killed yesterday in a car crash. The worst part of it is that we heard it, but didn't know what it was. I had just dropped her off at her dad's, and we heard a very loud bang! I thought it might be a shotgun or something. It was loud, and I couldn't tell where it came from. I made her stay in the car with me, and then her dad got home and she went in and I left. I circled around to see if the police were about, but saw no one. Now I find that the bang was from the crash, which took place nearly a mile away. There was no screeching. And we were too far away to hear glass breaking or anything else but the initial impact. It was that impact that hurled Houston through the windshield and meshed his 16 year old face with the asphalt highway.

He was just 16. So was the driver. They were, reportedly, racing up the highway with a Blazer when someone turned left in front of them. The driver is in intensive care, spared the same fate only because the steering wheel kept him from flight. No seat belts. Dammit. 3 others were injured. 4 vehicles in all. And my little girl's friend Houston was dead.

I was explaining to her that this is why we parents get so nuts about them when they don't check in, and why it is so scary to see them go off with their friends and such. There are never any guarantees that they will return. Anyway, we were talking about Houston, and I remembered that I once knew a Houston. And then it hit me like a brick. I DID know this Houston! It was so long ago, yet I remember him so vividly now.

Houston was a star player on the little league team I co-managed with #1 just after we divorced. Finchie was 6, and Houston was 7. Even then, I knew this kid was something special. He had heart, he knew right from wrong and chose right because it WAS right. He was polite and sincere. He listened. He learned. He mentored the younger players. He had skill, personality, and was cute as a bug. He brought those skills with him over the last 9 years, and was a player on our high school's baseball team. He just recently accepted Christ into his life. Good timing. And he sat with my Beast at lunch.

~sigh~

Just hug your kids tonight, ok? And if you don't have one, hug your mom. And if she's not available, find someone and hug them. We just don't know how long we're going to be here.


The Digital Bastard's Claim:

Beginning Weight: 204.5

Goal #1: 184

Total lost: 5 Pounds to go: 15.5


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter