My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Friday, Jul. 01, 2005 - 7:57 P.M.

Live 8



G8 summit and tell them to put a stop to the needless deaths of 30,000 children every single day.


On July 13, 1985 the world took notice when rock stars from around the world held unique dual concerts in London and Philadelphia, as Live Aid called on people to take action to help the sufferers of the famine hitting Africa.


Live Aid raised over $100 million. But 20 years on poverty, famine and disease is still a major problem in Africa. The public have shown how important this is to them now it is time to get governments to act.


On July 6th, 2005, the leaders of Great Britain, the USA, Canada, France, Germany, Italy, Japan and Russia (the "Group of 8") will meet at Gleneagles in Scotland to talk about world affairs, including Africa. They will be presented with a workable plan to double aid, drop the debt and make trade laws fair.


What can I, you, WE, do? Not much one our own. However, the actions taken by ONE multiplied by millions is a completely different thing. Do ONE thing. Sign ONE petition. Submit ONE picture. Wear ONE bracelet. Be aware for ONE day.


On this extended holiday (in the US) weekend, check out the concert coverage on MTV, or try the webcast on AOL. For the U.S., the following are presenting: Alicia Keys, Black Eyed Peas, Bon Jovi, Dave Matthews Band, Def Leppard, Destiny's Child, Jay-Z, Josh Groban, Kaiser Chiefs, Keith Urban, Linkin Park, Maroon 5, P Diddy, Rob Thomas, Sarah McLachlan, Stevie Wonder, and Toby Keith. Internationally, it is even more diverse:
African Children's Choir, Annie Lennox, Bob Geldof, Coldplay, Dido, Elton John, Joss Stone, Keane, The Killers, Madonna, Mariah Carey, Ms. Dynamite, Paul McCartney, Pink Floyd, Razorlight, REM, Robbie Williams, Scissor Sisters, Snoop Dogg, Snow Patrol, Stereophonics, Sting, Travis, U2, UB40, Velvet Revolver, The Cure, Sheryl Crow, Shakira, Brian Wilson, Crosby Stills and Nash (!), Roxy Music (!!), Faith Hill, Tim McGraw, Jann Arden, Dan Aykroyd (MC), Bachman/Cummings Band, Barenaked Ladies, Blue Rodeo, Bryan Adams, Tom Cochrane, Bruce Cockburn, Motley Crue, Celine Dion (via satellite), Great Big Sea, Gordon Lightfoot, Our Lady Peace, Deep Purple, Sam Roberts, Simple Plan, The Tragically Hip, Bjork, Pet Shop Boys....and that's not EVEN a complete list!


This kind of thing makes me feel just a bit ashamed of my crabbing about a silly diet.


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
1 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter