My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Wednesday, Aug. 10, 2005 - 12:42 A.M.

Live From the Air


(8:03 PM) Well, we're up. Again I find myself seated above the clouds, only this time, so far at least, it's a much smoother flight. It seemed like a "good karma" day to fly. After all, if the shuttle can land safely after loosing tiles and experiencing some of the same tribulations as the one that blew up well then I'm sure we'll land this puppy without incident. Do I sound confident?

We are just about 30 minutes into our 3 hour flight to Phoenix. (hang on...bit of turbulence...) LOT OF TURBLUANCE!!!!

I'm going to try and type through the bumpiness and try not to panic. I figure as long as the attendants are walking the aisles serving drinks and snacks, we are ok. Unlike the flight home from Charlotte. We took off from there in the middle of some really disturbing storms. But actually, the takeoff itself wasn't anything too horrible. No need to drag out the barf bags or anything like that. But just as we got comfortable and relaxed and we were sipping our diet drinks and listening to Carol King on the headsets, it felt like the floor dropped out of the jet. We dropped hard and fast and started shaking violently. We tilted hard to the right, still descending, and then to the left. And when the co-pilot came on overhead, instead of some soothing and reassuring drivel, we got "FLIGHT ATTENDENTS, TAKE YOUR SEATS!"

NOT reassuring!

Obviously, it all turned out ok, and I got to know the lady sitting next to me quite well. Her name was Karen. I introduced myself after I ripped off her left sleeve. Poor Ally was on my left, and could only grip my hand as hard as I gripped hers. Being on the aisle, she had no one else to grope.

We aren't lucky enough to be sitting together this time; she's several rows behind me. Even though I think I was the last one to board, I got a window seat. This flight is about 1/3 empty. (The captain just popped on to let us know that we are experiencing some "chop" and so the seat belt sign will remain lit for another 15-20 minutes.) And I just realized that instead of squinting at this stupid screen, I could just zoom the print by 150% and actually READ what I'm typing. Technology: Ain't she grand.

When I get home, I have a special treat in store for me. The daughter will be home from school! She's bringing a few friends home with her. She's been sick again since the last time I posted about her health, and so on Monday we see the Dr. and find out if he's going to order her home for a semester or allow her to go back. I think we are both pulling for the latter. She's far happier, even when homesick, out making her own life.

We just got served our snack, and it's no small bag of peanuts for us this time! No sir. Well, ok, we DID get a bag of peanuts, but we also got a small box snack too. Hang on while I check it out...

Cheese Nips, Oreos and graham crackers! I wonder how long I can make that last with my little dinky cup of Diet Coke. FYI...United may nearly fall out of the sky, but they give out whole cans of pop! Or soda, depending on where you're from.

I just peeked out the window and we are sailing on a bed of fluff. The sun is setting down below, and a few last rays are burning their way through for my viewing pleasure. The children on board have tired of their squawking digital toys and must be enjoying their snacks. The guy in front of me can't recline his seat cuz I have my computer on the tray in front of me. The middle seat next to me is empty; the woman sitting on the aisle is napping. Now if the plane would just stop vibrating, all would be well.

I see my drink is almost here, and so I think I'll shut this down for a bit (but leave it on my tray, heeheehee). If we are still in the air and I am not barfing, I'll come back and say a few words.

(8:54 PM) The seat belt sign WAS off for a little bit, but it's back on now with an announcement that we are in for quite a bumpy ride. I read my neighbor's People magazine (yes, I asked her first) and feel a bit more at piece now that I know what Jennifer Aniston's saying.

Fuck. The bogarting blowhard bastard in front of me just forced his seat back, plunging the corner of my laptop into my boob. NOW KISS IT, ASS HOLE! Shit. Well, it doesn't really matter how much I blow up the text now, there's only so much I can do when I can only have this opened 1/4 of the way. Fuck a duck. I'm going to have nothing to do now because this freak show of a cheap ass airline doesn't show any movie, which is completely insane for a 3 hour flight!

I may have to dip into my snack box. Oh well, fans. Peace out. If this gets posted, it means we landed safely in Phoenix.

(11:30 PM) P.S. Obviously.


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
1 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter