My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Sunday, May. 12, 2002 - 1:34 P.M.

Mom


Mom may kill me for posting that picture up there. I hope she understands. This is my all time favorite picture of her, because it is probably my all time favorite memory of her. Sometimes moms get a bum rap, especially when they are the ones that enforce the rules and are the disciplinarians of the house, as was the case in our household.

Mom was not the typical mom on the block. For one thing, she had a job. A real job, a good job. It used to frustrate her when the neighbor ladies would bug her to sit out on the porch to have coffee. She really felt that she couldn't spare the time. She was more than a housewife and mother. She was a nurse. My dad was a postal worker and worked through the day. Mom worked 3-11pm so that we ere never with a babysitter. I recall very few times with a sitter. Less than a handful of times as a matter of fact. They just arranged their lives for us. And they still do.

She taught me so many things. She taught me that the way to make coffee was to let it perk until it finally boiled over (and that would happen only when you stopped watching it) on the stove. She taught me that it was ok to not be the same as everyone else. She taught me that my feet were important enough to buy good shoes, because if your feet hurt, you won't be worth the air you breathe to anyone else. She taught me to ask questions and to keep asking until I got an answer. She taught me the value of a promise. She taught me how to treat children with respect. She taught me about friendship (her best friend for 60 years dies a few years ago, and it was an inspiration to see how she handled the loss of her dearest friend.)

There were things I could count on. One thing was that every morning mom would get us up for school. Overtime the coffee boiled over she would run into the kitchen yelling "SHIT!" Every Saturday she would yell at me to clean my room. God I was a slob. Every time I did something wrong she found out about it (like when I was putting pennies on the railroad track and there she was in her car on the other side of the crossing gate honking furiously at me). Every time I made an excuse, she didn't buy it. Every time she made vegetables, especially the stinky kind (asparagus, broccoli) she would fight with me to swallow it after I had chewed the same bite for 2 hours. Every time she mopped the kitchen floor I would mess it up.

Every time I hurt, she hurt too. Overtime I cried she hugged me. And every time she hugged me never let go first.

And every Christmas morning from the time I can first remember to the time I moved out, it was always the same. My brother would wake up at like 4am and get my sister and I up. We knew that no way would mom let us up that early. I don't think we snuck out to peek, although maybe we did from the hallway. I know we never got close enough to actually shake a present or anything. Eventually, we would HAVE to wake them up and beg to open gifts. She would say NO for as long as she could. Finally around 5:30 she allowed us to open our stockings in our rooms as long as we were quiet. Yeah. Right. That satisfied us for a very short time. Then, we would collectively go into their room and beg some more. They would grumble, stagger out to the kitchen and start the coffee. When it boiled over on the stove we were allowed to go into the living room and wait for them. They would come out with their cups of freshly burned coffee and watch us rip through their life savings in about 5 minutes' time. It was a ripping frenzy. We didn't stop to savor the gifts until the packages were all exposed. And then, like up above, she would play with us. Either by assembling the unassembled things, or by playing a game. That one up there is Mousetrap. That's me obviously tickled to death about the game. And that is my little brother taking it all very seriously, as he always did and still does.

My children are a delight. And most of the reason that they are is because I was raised the way I was. I do more things like my parents did than I ever thought I would. Mom was my teacher. She was mom, not my friend or buddy. She took the job seriously and made hard decisions. She never let the fact that I hated her on a monthly basis change the way she enforced her rules. She never let me see her cry from the things I said to her. She was mom. And now, she is grandma. And as firm as she was then, she is soft now.

She loves me. Loves her grandchildren. She is now my friend. And she still hugs longer than I do. I try very hard not to be the one who lets go first, but I can't beat her.

I love you mom. Always have, always will. I am all of the good things I am because of you and dad. Thank you.


And now, a few words from MOTH

I have never written anything in my Annie's Journal. For one thing, I can't compete with her talent. For another, it's HER little corner that I never invade, but always read. Just like you guys do. But today I knew she was going to write , in her own wonderful way, about her Mom. Annie is a wonderful, generous, lady. In just over a month she is even going to share that treasure from her childhood, her Mother, with me.

I would like to say a few words about my Mom. She died 20 years ago this August and my sibs and I miss her horribly. She was 5 ft tall, a touch overweight (round) and had a heart the size of Texas. She raised her 7 intelligent, willful, children to be good, honorable, Christian people. I've always been excruciatingly proud of being one of them. She had her faults but they gradually fade into obscurity while her good parts shine brighter in my memory. That is as it should be. If you aren't to busy fussing at the other Angels about cleaning their rooms. And if you do happen to be looking over my shoulder as I type this. And I think you just might be. I love you Momma. I wish you could be there next month when I finally marry someone that is almost as good a mother as you. You would approve I know.

Sleep warm Mom


TODAY'S QUOTE

"Stop comparing yourself to your sister. I love YOU just the way YOU are."

*Mom*


The Digital Bastard's Claim as of date 5/8/02:

Beginning Weight: 204.5

Goal #1: 184

Total lost: 19.0

Pounds to go: 1.5


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter