My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Wednesday, Apr. 17, 2002 - 8:34 P.M.

Points


After all of the hoopla and kicking and screaming, I have to admit that this isn't all that hard. I don't know why Weight Watchers (W.W.) is like the last thing most people try, maybe it's because we want to just take a pill and continue about our ways. Well, that doesn't work. Duh.

So anyway. It's a pretty easy system this is. You look at a chart and depending on how much you weigh, that's how many points you can eat and still lose weight. Actually they give you a range. I began in the 200-224 pound range which allotted me 24-29 points. I chose to go with 26 points. I made that decision because I was so close to the next weight range of 175-199 and that would give me a point range of 22-27. So 26 seemed like a good place to start.

For those of you NOT familiar with W.W. points, here are some examples:

0 points: Raw carrots, celery, coffee with fat free 1/2 and 1/2, fat free mayo, fat free Italian dressing, I Can't Believe It's Not Butter spray, seasonings, Butter Buds and a whole lotta green things I don't like.

1 point: 5 think slices of fat free chicken, 1 cup unsweetened applesauce, a WHOLE BAG of Jolly Time Healthy Pop butter flavored popcorn, 1 fat free hot dog, 1 Bocca Burger, 1 cup Special K with Red Berries, 1 slice fat free cheese.

2 points: fat free lite yogurt (banana flavor of course!), 1 plain baked potato, 1 pear, 1 cup banana applesauce, 1 slice Oatnut bread, 1 cup skim milk, 1 hamburger or hotdog bun, 1 cup Corn Flakes, Cheerios, and Rice Chex, 2 strips of crisp bacon.

And so on. The key is that "fat free" term. By paying for the "At home" option, I got this nifty calculator that figures out points for me. I plug in the calories of my serving and the grams of fat and the grams of fiber, and it lets me know the cost in points. If I can't figure out the points, I charge myself a BUTT LOAD, like at Pepe's I get the chicken Burrito, no beans and charge 8 points when I know that it is probably less. I give myself 10 points for the cups and salsa also.

Even so, I am having a few problems. I am doing better with water than I have in the past, but it is hard to get the required 6 8 ouncers in, let alone the 8 that most people SAY you should have. I consistently get at least 4 and sometimes 6 servings of plain water from the little bottles that we have cases of at work. I try to drink at least 2 more servings of Kool Aid at home. So I don't count coffee or diet Coke in my fluid totals.

The other problem is a weird one. I'm not using my points. In over three weeks, I have only used all my points once, and have used over 22 points less than 5 times. One night I fell asleep so early that I only used 9 points in that day (that was my all time low and the fam bitched me out and I DIDN'T do it on purpose!). I know that I need to eat my points in order to keep my metabolism healthy and working properly. I know that if my body isn't getting enough nutrient and fuel, it will think it is starving and slow down and convert everything to fat. I never had a problem eating before I began this bloody diet. I know what I'm doing. I'm afraid I'll run out of points before I fall asleep and then I'll be miserable and feel deprived. So, I hoard my points. Like Elaine on Sienfeld who had to decide if her dates were sponge-worthy after the contraceptive sponge was recalled, I find myself deciding that many...most things are not point worthy.

Today was a very typical day. No breakfast. Never been one to eat breakfast, and never will. I take my handful of pills and either water (like today) or a cup of skim milk (2 points). Lunch is a sandwich on Oatmeal bread and baked chips (7 points total) or a frozen dinner from Smart Ones, Healthy Choice, or Lean Cuisine. The points are right on the box. usually between 3 and 6. Today I did a major splurge and had a 6 pointer of meat loaf and potatoes and green beans and a surprise apple praline dessert. So when I arrived home today, I had another 20 points available. 20! I was pretty hungry so I had a 1/2 sandwich snack (3 points). Dinner was a Bocca Chicken Patty on a bun (6 points) and pasta salad which I can't calculate so I figured heavy with 5 points. And Kool Aid (0). That's 19 so far. I made a regular dinner for the fam, including mozzerella cheese sticks. I could have had 2 for 5 points, but I didn't think it was worth it. I could have had 4 pieces of fish for 7 points, but I was stingy. Now I am thinking about going to bed, and I have 7 points to bank and I have some activity points from work today (ROUGH day!).

If and when I ever get under 150 pounds, the range is 18-23 pounds. So the good news is that I could live like this and not have much trouble doing so. It helps that I don't drink alcohol, that's a lot of points. And I don't drink much soda, what I do drink has always been diet. I like sugar free Kool Aid. I found a fat free 1/2 and 1/2 for my coffee instead of the white piss non dairy creamer. I crunch on carrots, which I like. I don't even think about regular foods.

Much.

If I can do it, anyone can. I know there are a small number of folks out there who legitimately have a metabolic or thyroid problem, but according to my doctor it is pretty rare. We reap what we sow, we wear what we eat, we pay for our choices. I'm not trying to convert anyone, God knows I've only been at this for a short time and who knows if I succeed? But if I don't succeed, it will be my own fault. Because I can do this. I can be accountable for every morsel I put in my mouth. I can control my portions and fat content. So if I blow it, it's because I didn't stay with it, and that MY fault.


TODAY'S QUOTE

"You have to stay in shape. My grandmother, she started walking five miles a day when she was 60. She's 97 today and we don't know where the hell she is."

*Ellen DeGeneres*


The Digital Bastard's Claim as of date 4/15/02:

Beginning Weight: 204.5

Goal #1: 184

Total lost: 13

Pounds to go: 7.5


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter