My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Monday, Sept. 18, 2006 - 10:06 P.M.

An American Hero



Edmund J. Kujawa, born October 15, 1922 in Chicago passed away September 15, 2006. Devoted son of the late John P. and Stella H., nee Marlewski, Kujawa; dearly beloved husband and best friend for 50 years of the late Lorraine Marie Kujawa, nee McCormick; loving devoted father of John and Jerome; proud grandfather of Jackie and ''Daddy'' to Coyote. Ed was a devout Catholic believer who truly lived his Christian faith, an honest and honorable family man and all around great guy. A rubber mold design engineer, Ed held several U.S. patents, such as for molds for bridge pads seen on the expressways.

A true-blue American patriot, Ed was awarded two Purple Hearts for being wounded in France in World War II. He served in reconnaissance, Fifth Division, General Patton's Third U.S. Army. Landed at Utah Beach June 1944. Fought in the Normandy, Northern France, Ardennes, Rhineland and Central Europe campaigns.

On Veteran's Day 2005 in a ceremony, Congressman Mark Kirk presented Ed with one additional Purple Heart and eight additional service medals (including European Theater Operations, American Theater Operations, Victory in Europe, Army of Occupation, Good Conduct and Unit Meritorious Award) he earned for his service. Ed was proud of his role in helping to liberate the enslaved people of Europe. He was even more proud of his loving wife and two sons.

MOTH and I had the honor of sitting with this hero a few months ago at his son's 50th birthday party. I've never seen MOTH completely humbled in the presence of any living soul before. I'd never been this close to such an American hero before either. And with the current statistics showing that we are losing over 1000 veterans per day, the odds are not good that I'll have that privilege again. The above quoted obituary doesn't scratch the surface of this man's character. He spoke of what he could bring himself to share regarding his war experiences. Over 60 years after the fact, he was unable to do so without becoming emotional.

He had dinner with his two sons on Thursday night. He died on Friday morning. His sons were with him when he passed. He did not linger, he did not suffer. He lived in this world as a hero. He died a hero. We should be lucky to be like him.


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter