My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Saturday, Mar. 09, 2002 - 8:27 A.M.

Behold The Bar of Salad!


I wonder just who came up with the idea of the "All you can eat" buffet. You know it had to be someone large. And impatient ("I can't wait five whole minutes for my meal!!!!"). The whole concept is a bit Homer Simpsonesque. Eat til you drop, then relax with a cup of coffee, maybe take a trip to the loo and make room for more. Old Country Buffet does this clever thing where they put their desserts out in tiny portions...you know..."taste without waste." Yeah right. It always afforded me the opportunity to end my meal with an assortment of cheesecake, chocolate cake and carrot cake. Yuuuuuuuuuummmmmmmyyyy!

Well, being as how I am "trying" to lose weight...cough cough...those days of Old Country Buffet are behind me...with occasional lapses like last week when I took BEAST to lunch after shopping. So yesterday when she suggested lunch, I was relieved when she wanted to go to the Olive Garden for the endless soup and and salad (doesn't "endless" sound less Homerish than "all you can eat?"). Actually, since I have placed this concept into the Simpson's world, I would imagine that "All you can eat" came from Homer, "All you CARE to eat" would have been Marge's, "Endless" would be Lisa's and something rude like "Chow like a cow" would have been Bart's. I have yet to see that one, although the concept is obviously there in all such establishments.

I digress.

On our way, we changed our minds for a healthier alternative. "Sweet Tomatoes" is a Salad-bar Buffet. Doesn't that sound like a smarter choice? SURE it is!

You start out by going through a massive salad array. They'll make you a fresh Caesar salad if you like, or you can just go down the line and pile on every conceivable salad type item. Oh sure, you got you regular garden fixings like crisp lettuce, endive, shredded carrots, cucumber, assorted squashes, tomatoes, peppers. There are chopped boiled eggs, FOUR types of cheeses, THREE kinds of olives, TWO kinds of croutons, and a partridge in a pear tree. Oh. And 12 salad dressings from which to choose. Yummy? I guess.

But you see, that's the front of the place. You make you giant salad, and then you pay your fee, pick up your beverage glass, and find a place to sit. THEN. You go to fill your glass with the liquid of your choice and LOW AND BEHOLD! You got your freshly baked breads with your choice cups of whipped butter or honey butter. Vats of home made chili, chicken noodle soup and garden vegetable barley soup. Foccacia bread topped with garlic and parmesan. Foccacia bread pizzas (pepperoni and three cheese). A fresh pasta bar, freshly baked muffins, and ice cream bar top off the "Back" room.

So I ate my healthy salad. I inhaled several squares of foccacias, and enjoyed 2 teeny weenie trays of freshly prepared-before-my-eyes beef stroganoff. A slice of yummy warm sour dough bread with honey butter. Not quite full, and feeling like I should have a vegetable in such an establishment, I finished off my main meal with a baked potato...with 3 little cups of shipped butter. Oooh yeah, health! Let's see...I sampled the chocolate chip muffin, the chocolate brownie and a small dish of vanilla soft serve ice cream covered with crushed peppermint candy. Of course it was all washed down with a diet coke. Of course.


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter