My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Wednesday, Jul. 24, 2002 - 10:22 P.M.

It's SAP!


Last night MOTH and I went out to join the people above, the people who are staring upwards. Yes, we went to SAP FEST. Have you been yet? Surely you've heard of it, no? Isn't SAP FEST the reason the Pope has been dragged over to North America? I'm sure he plans on attending.

Well, for those of you who are less informed, SAP FEST has sprung up here in my little hometown, because someone saw the Virgin Mary in a knot in a tree covered with sap. Yeah. An apparition, right here in IbeTown. I stayed away as long as I could, even during the media frenzy. But it finally got the best of me, and I begged MOTH to take me up there so I could see one o' them apparitions for myself.

Based on our visit, I have composed my own definition of the word "apparition." It means looking at something and making it be whatever the hell you want it to be. Kind of like a real world Rorschach test. Remember when, as a kid, you laid down on your back outside and stared at the clouds until they seemed to form something? Frankly, I totally sucked at that. 9 times out of 10, when someone tried to get me to see what they saw, all I saw was cloud.

Now, I'm no expert when it comes to this "Vision" thing, but correct me if I'm wrong. Seems to me that when the Virgin Mary makes an appearance, it is THE Virgin Mary. THE. THE! As in one. Not here at SAP FEST. Nope. If there was one shrine there were 30. Almost every tree in this vacant lot had some kind of notch and sap combo with a holy card pinned by it. I mean, how many time would she appear, I mean, if it really were she?

Well, far be it from me to be a doubter. So I looked up. I followed the points and the stares. I squinted. I tried real hard to see what the weeping believers saw. A few times, I could make myself do it, I could see where one might think the notch in the tree looked like a Virgin Mary...

Media. Cars. People. Flowers. Bouquets and bouquets of flowers. Candles. My gosh, festive decorative votive candles. Everywhere. Up in the trees, I can't even imagine how the shrines got put up there. There was a man fervently constructing a brick shrine.
A mother walked up to one of the notches, touched her fingers in the sap and blessed herself, placed her fingers in the goo again and blessed her baby.

One couldn't hardly escape the fact that the crowd consisted of about 95% Hispanics, and that the other 5%, of which I was a member, all had disbelief and/or amusement (or bemusement) on their (our) faces. It didn't help me keep a straight face when faced with things like this:

But then, ya gotta make a living don't you? Especially when you are spending all of your money on candles and flowers. I felt sorry for the elderly owner of the Hardware store who's parking lot is adjacent to the SAP FEST. he was out there trying to enforce his "customer only" parking policy, and he was losing the battle. Poor guy. Poor sap. ~snort~

I guess the entire experience was summed up by this final scene. A mother looks at a notch and exclaims that she can see "it." It's so clear! Right here! See it? The kids says, "Um, no." She continues, "Sure! Right here, see this part is the baby Jesus." He gets up close and squints, then backs up and squints, looks at his mom and honestly states, "Nope. I just don't see anything."

Kind of like the Emperor's New Clothes, huh?


TODAY'S QUOTE

"It is wonderful how much time good people spend fighting the devil. If they would only expend the same amount of energy loving their fellow men, the devil would die in his own tracks of ennui."

*Helen Keller*


The Digital Bastard's Claim as of 7/24/02:

Beginning Weight: 204.5

Goal #1: 184 (Met 5/19/02)

Goal #2: 164.5

I hope to meet my final target by May 1, 2003


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter