My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Friday, Nov. 02, 2001 - 6:48 P.M.

Shrektacular!


I just sent the boys out to find this movie for me, it just came out today. I don't see many movies until they've been out on video and on cable for, oh....about a year or so. It's pathetic. (For example, I have yet to see the Grinch, and it is being released on November 20). But I saw Shrek TWICE in the theaters. Count 'em TWO times! And it was a pleasurable experience both times.

I won't give anything away, since some of you poor saps haven't seen it yet, but SEE IT! Kids will just enjoy the silliness, adults will marvel at the animation, and we plump-ettes and/or not-so-natural beauties will enjoy the ending. I probably just killed it for you. Oh well. Tough.


It's always hard for me to do the "Top 10" (or God forbid the "Top 5") when it come to movies. For one thing, my top 10 favorites are not necessarily the same as my Top 10 Best Movies of all time. Does that make sense? I tend to like movies that, sometimes I wouldn't even try to pass of as a "great" movie. I don't care for much beyond comedy really. If I am going to spend my dime, I want to be entertained, I want to laugh. I don't like being grossed out and I usually don't like being scared. I find that stressful, and I've always had enough stress in my life to take a pass at the movies. The main reason I don't like horror is because it is mixed too often with gore, and I can't handle gore. No way, no how. Well, except for Fargo. I was able to watch that by holding my hands up to block out the bloody parts. Blood=puke. My head (and stomach) will not reconcile that what is on the screen is fake. It's probably because I live such a sheltered life. I have never seen a dead body for real, unless you count the casket cases. But mean, not really. I have never handled a dead pet. (tiny stiff finches and decomposing fishies don't really count).

The few horror movies I've seen that were not gross and which also scared me are Poltergeist which at the time totally wigged me out! Another is Psycho. I still don't think I have sat through the entire film uninterrupted. I just can't. I have seen the important scenes, in fact I'm sure I have seen it all, but not in one sitting. It's too intense. And I still to this day cannot take a shower without needing to keep the soap and water out of my eyes so I can watch for Norman. The original Night of the Living Dead completely freaked me out because the good guy gets it at the end! How creepy is that????

I suppose at the top of my list would be Wizard of Oz for the sheer genius and originality. That would make my favorites as well as Best movies list. Other favorites would have to be Harold and Maude (I want to be like Maude when I grow up and it has one of the best soundtracks in the world!), A Little Romance (a movie that makes me cry each and every time I watch it), Rock and Roll High School (the Ramones, just a silly movie with good music), To Kill a Mockingbird, which also makes both lists, and Monty Python and the Holy Grail which beats out Life of Brian by a hair. Those movies have stood the test of time. I respect many more movies. The Pink Panther movies made me laugh my ass off, out loud, in the theaters, and that's a rare thing. I respect a movie that makes me laugh right out loud. And one that causes a laughing jag, well....cudos!


Movies that are considered great by others (in which Piglet does NOT agree):

Gone With The Wind - BORING!
Citizen Kane - pretentious
Godfather - Too bloody to watch, never saw any of them
Casablanca - Gee, I didn't find Bogey all that appealing, he looks like he'd have bad breath, you know like hard-liquor breath. Never watched the whole film.
Star Wars - ~shrug~ I don't dig sci-fi. Seemed too weird for me.
Lawrence of Arabia - I never bothered to watch, looked long and hot.
2001 - Am I the only one would cops to just not getting it? I JUST DON'T GET IT!
Streetcar Named Desire - I just don't want to like it and I don't see what's so great about Brando.


Movies that I consider Great (and so do some other people):

To Kill a Mockingbird - I can smell the Fall air on the night that Finch and Jim are saved by Boo Radly.
Psycho - Shows more than I ever wanted to see, yet showed nothing.
Dr. Strangelove - Mike Myers must have studied Mr. Sellers in the art of playing multiple parts in a movie.
Duck Soup - watch it now! Marx Brothers at war to save Freedonia.
Wizard of Oz - No one had done it like this.
M - Peter Lorre, subtitled (German). Very dark, violent, and like Psycho, sends chills by allowing the brain to fill in the blanks.
One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest - Not just a brilliant movie on its own, but you get to see Danny Devito and Christopher Lloyd before they were anybody!
Holy Grail - I'll bet the coconuts were a product of budget constraints!


Probably Great movies that I'll never see:

Apocalypse Now, Shindler's List, Deerhunter, Saving Private Ryan, Braveheart...

I know that I'll post this and then wish I'd added additional title to these lists.


After all of that, the boys returned empty handed! Dang! No Shrek tonight!!!!


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter