My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Saturday, Oct. 13, 2001 - 9:29 P.M.

Sign Language


Ok. When you read that flashing sign up above, what do you see? What word or words jump out at you? If you are a woman, you probably see a message that says that the road is closed, you should not enter, rather please find another route, The words that pop out at you would probably be "Closed" and "not."

However, if you are male, the words that catch your eye are "road" and "ENTER." Yes, the message to you is more like "Come on in! Have a good time, hang on and enjoy the ride!!!!"

We were going out to see a movie, like I posted this morning. MOTH decided that it was just fine for us to see Zoolander, so I was pretty hepped up. Finchie decided to join us. I drove.

It had rained all morning, a very hard Autumn monsoon-type rain. It was still going strong when we left. When I turned onto a side road, I see the fateful "Road closed ahead" sign. Shit. There was a car ahead of us, and she kept going so I followed her. She proceeds to go around the barricade. You know, sometimes they put those signs up before they actually close the road, and they tend to leave them up long after the road is useable. So. The car I'm following slows down, it's about 1/4 mile ahead of me. I see the backup lights, and I pull over prepared to do the same.

MOTH doesn't seem to think that's necessary. He thinks I should go on a bit, see if we can get through. Maybe she just pussied out. So, I pull up further. The pavement ends....and I continue slowly. Ahead of me I see a lake. Now, my reaction is "I can't see how deep it is, I think we should turn around." But MOTH sees it differently. He has a lot of faith in this 6 year old killer Caravan of mine.

"I'd go for it," he scoffs.

A stronger person would have stayed true to herself. Oh hell, no. Not me. I take the challenge and creep forward, with Finchie fretting in my ear.

"I think we should turn around."

"We can make it."

"I think we should turn around."

"We can make it."

"I think we should turn around."

"We can make it."

I want to follow MOTH. But Finchie got to me. I stop. BAD mistake! We're stuck. Way stuck. Really stuck. Like, I try to reverse slowly, and I spray mud all over the sides of the van. We sink deeper. So MOTH gets out, in the unrelenting monsoon, and tries to ram various roadside trash under the wheels, none of which do a thing to get us loose. I blew a call into Eldest. I ask him to come in MOTH's truck, and bring shovels and kitty litter HEY! It premium super clumping and absorbent, I figured it couldn't hurt). While we waited for him to arrive, a neighbor came out with an umbrella, stared at us for a few minutes, and went back into the house. Thanks a heap, jagoff.

Eventually a big utility truck came by, hooked up a chain to my ass, and pulled us out. Eldest arrived moments after the utility man got there, and remained on the pavement like a good boy to watch the show.

Once we were pulled clear, MOTH, drenched to the skin, decided he should take the wheel. After all, HE wouldn't have gotten the van stuck (and frankly, he probably wouldn't have gotten it stuck, he grew up in the country and I've only ever known pavement). Never mind that we wouldn't have gotten stuck if he hadn't suggested that we ignore the "road closed" signs. (MOTH is the Pooh to my Piglet, the adventurer to my fretting, and I probably never would do anything so adventurous if he didn't suggest it). We agreed that this was probably one of those situations best left undiscussed. It was very hard for Finchie to zip it, I could tell. And the Eldest doesn't really need to say a word, his smirk says it all. Me? Oh I didn't say a word. I didn't have to. I have this diary. P.S. No one was hurt, it made a good story, and hell, it was kind of fun. Thanks, MOTH)


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter