My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Monday, Mar. 18, 2002 - 6:02 P.M.

TIA


"Tia," in Spanish means aunt. TIA in caps means "transient ischemic attacks," recently redubbed "brain attacks."

Saturday mornings are my time to sleep in. "Sleep until your eyes open," is the way MOTH puts it. He rarely sleeps late on the weekends, and when he is on steroids for his asthema as he has been, he gets up in the middle of the night. So it was this past Saturday, when at 4am he got up. One of the things that woke him was a tingling in his left hand, and when he got up his left arm felt numb. He assumed he slept on it, and got up to write his weekly post for his family.

At 6:30, he came in to wake me, worried that his arm was still "asleep." He wanted me to call my mom, a nurse, whom he trusts implicitly (if she told him that he had to wear a straight jacket and stand in a bucket of ice, he would DO IT!). I thought it better that we first blow a call into his doctor to see if perhaps this could be a side effect from the steroids. I did the triage: no weakness, some numbness on the left cheek also, no slurred speech, no vision impairments, no headache, no nausea, no pain. (I considered an enema, but ya know...he bitched about it.) I placed the call to see if his DR was taking his own calls. He was and got back to us in like 15 seconds. Told us that we should go to the ER and get an EKG.

We did. His heart is fine. We called in Dr. Mom and she joined us in the ER to interpret the techno-talk. They did a CT-scan, and there is some trauma there on the front right area of the brain. Doc couldn't say if it was a small bleed, a tumor or what, so he ordered us to get an MRI as early as possible this week. With my promise in blood to monitor so much as his every fart and breath, they allowed me to take him home for the weekend. I got him in for the MRI this morning (Monday) at 6am. Can't get any earlier than that.

Now we wait. I have done some research, and it appears from all of his symptoms that it was indeed a TIA or a "light stroke" -- but this doesn't mean it should be taken lightly. While a TIA does not cause damage to the brain, it is a serious "brain attack" which puts you at higher risk of having a full-blown stroke sometime down the road. We have taken it very seriously. The doctor's office is calling us the minute they get the report, regardless of the results. They already called this evening to say that they have the CT-scan report, but not the MRI yet. I expect a call tomorrow, dammit!

Looks like there will be some serious changes around here regarding diet and exercise and such. Because if he thinks he is going to get out of this wedding in June he's got another thing coming! Don't get me started, I may have a stroke!


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter