My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Sunday, Dec. 24, 2006 - 12:20 P.M.

Merry Thankful Christmas



This is my most favorite day of the year, and has been since December 1984...my first Christmas Eve as a mother, and the first of 23 no-excuses-allowed-mandatory-traditional-gift-opening-belly-stuffing-memory-making evenings at "Grandma and Grandpas:" house. No, not house, but home.

Usually at Thanksgiving, one has the time to sit and reflect upon things for which we are grateful. Christmas tends to be too hectic. I guess it's either age or hormones or a combination of the two that makes me stop in my tracks and at least take note of the top things for which I give thanks this year (All are ranked at #1, so they are not listed in particular order):

1. My parents. At 74 and nearly 80, they are still strong, healthy (despite my father's assertions that he is nearly one foot in the grave, an assertion he's made for the past 40 years). They are active. They are helpful. Resourceful. And hands-down the very best role models anyone could ever hope for, given an endless supply of wishes.

2. Addison, my youngest niece, who has done something that the previous 10 grandchildren have not, and that's change "Grandma and Grandpa" into "Meemee and Hat." Yes, I typed Hat. I wonder if it will stick. I kind of hope it does. There aren't many men named "Hat" out there. She is a constant source of energy and delight. She lights up when she sees me, and my heart skips a beat when I see her. More over, my father's heart grows three sizes when he so much as hears her name. When he is with her, it as if he were 39 years younger, walking with her mom, my baby sister. In her 18 months she has rebirthed a happy man.

3. My oldest niece, my God-daughter who is in the process of making me a great-aunt, a great-Godmother. She begins the next generation which is so perfectly times since the twins make the end to the current one. She was a beautiful baby, and has grown into a gorgeous woman. Based on the 3-D pictures we have of the fetal-Mulvey (as I call "her"), the apple will fall very close to the tree. Her husband isn't hard on the eye either !

4. My siblings, with whom I have come to know and enjoy as friends, and have come to rely upon as family. It sounds simple. It hasn't always been. We weren't aware of how much we weren't close until we finally became close. Now that we know how it feels, I doubt we will ever let go. Older sister and her hubby Steve are miracles of marriage, to be sure. Going on 30 years, that doesn't happen very often, especially with such a harried start. And little brother's wonderful rebirth as a Christian and HAPPY man is a true blessing.

5. My newfound relationship with my nephew Dan. From his confusion and broken heart we came to know each other, and damned if there isn't a FINE man in there!

6. Work. Or rather, my new attitude at work. I love my boss, and I am finally learning how to do my job and not worry if I am liked. More often than not I am. When I'm not, I'm much better at realizing that the world doesn't end because of it. It makes each day a little easier. And hearing my very favorite student, the one I'd take home and adopt in a heartbeat, tell a new student one day "She's my best friend in the whole world!" doesn't hurt.

7. My newest nephews, Addison's brothers, the twins. With them, my baby sister completes her family. Through them, she and my mom have forged a friendship based on mutual love and respect. They are precious. They make me appreciate how hard it was having twins, I was so caught up in actually DOING it that I missed some of the details of just how overwhelming it is. I admire baby sister and hubby John for the job they are doing.

8. MOTH. He is walking. He's still in pain, but pain can be a reminder that we are still alive. I love him with all my heart. Forever. This is our 8th Christmas together (9 if you count the VERY first one, spent 300 miles apart).

9. My children. They love each other. I mean, they SAID it! THEY ACTUALLY SAID IT! I don't need a single package under that tree. That was everything. Eldest has become a strong man, and his choice for a partner is a perfect match for our family. I miss them both when they aren't here. Daughter is happy and strong and HEALTHY and happy and I love her so much. And finchie is fit and happy and in hog heaven with his siblings at home. His best friend is his brother.

Merry Christmas. Happy whatever you celebrate. God Bless.


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
1 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter