My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Sunday, Aug. 24, 2003 - 7:39 A.M.

I Love I love The 70's


Today's weight: 201.5 pounds Original Weight: 212.5 Total loss: 11.0 pounds


I devoted 13+ hours of my life to this show over the last 2 days (I watched some years more than once). Oh my God! I don't usually care for the format of these kind of shows, although I think looking back can be a lot of fun. But this damned thing has it all! And that's saying a LOT! I mean, the 70's? What a crappy era!

And I know about the 70's. I lived them. They encompass my final middle school year, high school years and undergraduate years. I graduated high school in 1975 and college in 1979. I wouldn't have thought there was enough interest to do one hour for the entire decade let alone an hour PER YEAR! But they've managed to fill in with commentary from such a wide assortment of people that even if you aren't interested in the decade, you will most certainly be amused by the comments!

Grace Slick looks like HELL, man! She is large and all gray! And although I recognized him immediately (from magazine articles, mom, I swear!), Ron "the chimp" Jeremy has puffed up in an alarming way. And as a fan of The Daily Show, I couldn't help but notice Mo Rocca's ("media gadfly") new look...a lisp. In fact, as the series wore on, his lisp increased until, by 1979, he was spraying the camera lens. What's that all about?

Here are a few quotes I gleaned from the shows, hope you like them.


1970
*Weebles were weapons, something I lobbed at my brother, we'd get Weebled.
*Rubin Kincaid was a disgrace to show business, he's get them the shittiest gigs.
*I lived in Iowa, HeeHaw was like Masterpiece Theater to us.
*HeeHaw did more damage to rural America than Deliverance.
*I'm all for wife swapping as long as you're swapping up.
*Who filled up a plastic bag with water and said "I should sleep on this."
*Mr. McFeeley - that can't be an accident, they were warning kids.
*Looking back, Alice (Brady Bunch) couldn't have been gayer, why were we not on top of that?

1971
*Tom Jones had a package UPS couldn't deliver.
*Bellbottoms started out with the best of intentions: "My ankles need more room," and they ended with "Why am I wearing a skirt from the ankles down?"
*The Ford Pinto was a pyrotechnics's delight. The rear fender was apparently made out of flint.

1972
*Wonder bread was in fact a steroid.
*People want wheat multi-grain nut make-your-fecal-waste-hurt-on-the-way-out kind of bread, a bowel movement was a delight back then.
*I squeal like a pig all the time.
*Jan was what we call nowadays bi-polar.

1973
*(re: leisure suits) Of course, if anyone smoked near you you'd go up like a tinderbox.
*Sonny and Cher were the ethnic Osmonds.
*Easy Bake was a gift from God...It takes a mouse exactly 4 hours to die in one.
*Baby Alive was primarily about bowels, and that's a lot of fun for kids.
*The excitement of the Shrinky Dink overrode the pain you felt when you grabbed the hot disk from the oven.

1974
*Fonzie got more ass than a toilet seat!

1975
*(re: Grizzly Adams) Give him a tree and he's set for a year.
*We used to play Pong like it was the last day of our lives.

1976
*There are some words which, if said enough times, are no longer funny. "Wiener" is not one of them.
*All the dudes who work at car washes said "Finally, they're going to tell our story."
*I don't think anyone held on to Stretch Armstrong for more than an hour, he got f**cked up fast.

1977
*Joey Ramone was not a looker, and I think he was wise to wear his hair over his face.
*What the hell was Chewbakka's problem, anyway?
*There is nothing hotter than a pasty white girl with danish on the side of her head.
*There was no finer Swedish supergroup than ABBA.
*I don't believe in alien abduction, but I DO believe in anal probes.
*I happen to know that God hates Debbie Boone
*Gary Coleman would not make a suitable Kunta Kinte.

1978
*If being a drunken slob college dropout wasn't cool aready, John Belushi made it cooler
*Fantasy Island is about 2 gay guys in white suits and 1 was a dwarf.
*(re:Price is Right) Someone is going to have a heart attack and die from that wheel.

1979
*I don't prefer the smell of napalm. I prefer the smell of musk.
*Tony Danza played "Tony," because if they gave him any other name he'd get confused.
*I lost my virginity to myself watching Bo Derik in "10."
*I thought, "I'm too young to have these thoughts," so I pulled up my pants and left the theater.
*The Chippendales showed, once and for all, that you didn't need to wear a shirt to wear a bow tie.
*The Village People...were they gay?
*Six very fit men singing about having sex at the Young Men's Christian Association.
*I never went back to the YMCA.


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter