My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Monday, Apr. 21, 2003 - 9:30 P.M.

Friendly Giant


I have been obsessed with this topic of "The Friendly Giant" for a long time, from mastering he theme song from memory on the clarinet as well as on the keyboard. I've hummed it to myself for my whole life. I don't know why, but Friendly's tone of voice and the little flashes of memory of the way he opened and closed each show give me comfort.

Friendly's soothing voice would begin the show, "Once upon a time, not long ago, not far away. . ." The camera showed the main street of a miniature town until it stopped at an enormous boot, and then tilted up to his face. "I'll hurry over to the castle and go in the back door so I can let the drawbridge down and open the big doors for you," he told us. "Are you ready?" he asked. "Here's my castle." Then, as a harp played the theme music, "Early One Morning," the drawbridge of a miniature castle lowered and front doors, lettered "Friendly Giant," swung open. In front of the fireplace, Friendly's gigantic hand always arranged "one little chair for one of you, and a bigger chair for two more to curl up in, and for someone who likes to rock, a rocking chair in the middle."

Then, he instructed us to "look up. . . waayyy up," and he called Rusty, a rooster who lived in a sack that hung on the castle wall. They were joined, by Jerome, the giraffe, who stuck his head through the window that Friendly always stood by. For the remainder of the fifteen minute show, they would chat, read a story book, and play music and sing. Then, Friendly would say goodbye to Jerome and Rusty, and to his young guests. He let them out the front door and pulled up the drawbridge after them as, in the sky above the castle, a cow jumped over the moon. The closing theme song was played on a recorder. My Finchie found an MP3 of the show's closing, and if you click on the button up there at the top, you'll hear it.

I'm feeling very old, and I wish I could curl up in that chair for two and just listen to his voice, just for a little bit.

Click here to see a clip of this show.


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter