My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Sunday, Nov. 10, 2002 - 1:42 P.M.

Home Improvement?


We just wanted to clean our room.

It started innocently enough. A day off spent at IKEA. No big whoop. 5 hours, FIVE FREAKING HOURS spent in Ikea. Who knew? We'd never been there before. I have our entire house outfitted (on paper) with the perfect decor, perfect furniture and accessories.

Now, its a given that right now we don't have a penny to spend. Not with ELDEST in college. Not with 2 more to follow soon. But we can dream, can't we? And besides, we have to prepare for the new furniture and accessories.

All I wanted to do was straighten up our room. It has been trashed since...well, for an embarrassingly long time. Before the wedding. Papers. Papers all over the place. Surely we could at least sort through the papers. How hard is that? But, see, we have been stuffing papers in one of the small dressers. Surely since we were going to sort through papers, we should go through those too. And then, it seemed that since the dressers weren't needed for clothing, and since most of the papers were shredded, we could do without them. But then the room looked uneven.

So the logical thing would be to rearrange things to make it look even. And then we began to think about how the room still looked like it did when jackass built it. And since it is downstairs, the dark walls made it seem grim. How hard would it be to lighten it up with a fresh coat of paint? Huh? I mean, just to freshen it up.

We really want to head toward a country/farm decor. So the idea of yellow in the bedroom worked well with that and would speak to the issue of light. But you know, on Changing Rooms, they insist on painting the ceiling the same color as the walls. So, I kind of insisted that we should too. And no proper Changing Rooms fan could ever JUST paint the walls and ceiling a single color, I had to come up with a faux finish. And so a full day was spent at Menards choosing just the right shades. And tools. You have to have the right tools to do it right, you know?

So, once we got home with the paint, we had to decide about the wallpaper. I can't see papering over it. It's just not right. So. I had to strip (don't even make the obvious joke!). But it didn't strip well. The top layer came off, but the adhesive backing stuck to the walls. SO. Steam or stripper?

We are more than 1/2 way into day 2 of our 3 day weekend. It looks grim. We don't have a Handy Andy to bail us out. And no Carol to make us the curtains I wish we had.

Stay tuned. I'll post the results. That way, we HAVE to get it done....right?


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter