My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Tuesday, Mar. 19, 2002 - 6:23 A.M.

Here Chicky Chicky!


I haven't updated you on the grandchicks lately. Well, what can I say? It's so hard not to brag. JES wanted me to take pictures but it's really hard to see anything when they are small! And now our two little ones aren't little anymore, and they are almost impossible to tell apart from their parents. I'm not sure when all of the color development is done, but as of now I'm fairly confident that we have a boy and a girl. MOTH was about to fry them up before they were weaned. When they are teenie tiny they make the cutest little squeaks when they are being fed. After a few weeks it sounds like Mothra flying through the house. Good God.

I'm not sure if I reported that I put huny1 and Whitey in their own cage, but I did. Everyone told me that they were gay. I knew they just needed some time, a few prompts. I have Whitey pegged for a male for sure! He took over the nest right away and built himself a cozy warm little pad. And every night, huny1 huddled on TOP of the nest, all lonesome-like. Finally I bought another larger nest and it took many repositionings before she moved in. I now have further proof of their gender. As soon as she had herself a cozy place, he moved in. So sometimes the two of them would be in the big nest, and sometimes he'd be alone in his place. Finally, I had the ultimate proof I needed that my instincts were correct. We got 4 eggs in huny1's place. And that bastard whitey is over on his own once again leaving her to warm the eggs on her own. Wham bam thank you ma'am. Moth is less than thrilled with the idea of more chicks.

Back over at the original cage, once the grandchicks got big, there was no room for the family in the nest, and besides, it was really disgusting! So I did a major cleaning, and threw out the old nest and put in 3 new ones. One like the original (the kind Whitey is in across the room), a bigger one (like huny1's), and an open round one. The folks took the first, the kids eventually made the second one their home, although they are really not good nest builders. Or perhaps they are just minimalists. They sure don't have much fluff in there! So far no interest in the round nest.

I noticed that huny2 was keeping herself pretty close to the homestead, and so I got out my trusty flashlight and shooed her out, and HOLY MOLEY! More eggs. (hee hee hee). And yesterday, I heard the familiar little squeaks emitting from the nest. This time they really built a good nest, no eggs rolling out. It has like a lip on it, so it's hard to get light in there. It seems like there is more than one chick. I never could get a good look at how many eggs were there.

So we have a little fertility clinic over here. Ibe a happy granny.


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter