My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Sunday, Nov. 14, 2004 - 10:11 P.M.

2004 American Music Awards



I am so out of touch with the music scene today. Just the other day I was asked about the music I listen to, and I realized that I don't listen to much music anymore, despite the fact that I have about 200 jewel cases of opportunities to do so. My tastes were never very sophisticated and so eclectic that I found it hard to focus.

Mostly I listen to the radio in the car. And mostly I listen to talk radio (political/comedy) or classical music to relax. The FM stations here in Chicago are a joke during the morning and afternoon drives, as they are nothing more than talk radio masking themselves as music. Sometimes I switch to the Christian stations because I like to sing along and it's the best way for me to pray. I get frustrated with the "classical rock" stations because they mostly play the mainstream stuff and I was never into mainstream rock. My rock tastes were with Neil Young. Very close to Country which I also like.

So anyway, I sat down to watch the American Music Awards tonight with my daughter; it's something we like to do together, listen to music and watch award shows. Our relationship, while rocky there for a bit, has improved and I guess we didn't have it too bad for very long. In fact, compared to most parents of teenage daughters, my year and a half of difficulty with her is actually a blessing in comparative brevity.

She really has pretty good taste in music, and it's fairly eclectic as well. She does like rap, but prefers Country and Western, but the love of her life is Bon Jovi, who performed live and received an award of merit for 20 years of music. He's aging quite well, I have to admit. Looked pretty fine, although it seemed awkward for him to rock hard in his velvet or velor pin striped suit (pictured above). GOOD lookin' man!

We both agreed that, overall, the show was pretty lame. It seems as though Country and Western was very well represented, and had the best live performances overall (Gretchen Wilson, Toby Keith, Kenny Chesney). Why they chose Jimmy Kimmel to host was a mystery, since he wasn't funny at all. Unlike the many presenters. There were a few notable highlights:


*Diana Ross. Her freaking hair was so heavy that it apparently cut off oxygen to her brain and caused her to repeat herself three times in an attempt to read her lines for the first award.


*Rod Stewart. His freakish red plaid pants did nothing to help his croaking voice through his ballad. Hell, even with laryngitis I sound better than he does. That raspiness had character when he belted out Maggie Mae, it just sounds ill in his current "classics" mode.


*Jessica Simpson. Can you understand the words that are coming out of her mouth? NO!


*Kobe Bryant. Loudly booed through his presentation. What the hell was Dick Clark thinking by booking him?


*Snoop Dogg. Damn funny "backstage" coverage of him running the bizzake sale. It was far more enjoyable than his performance, but then i just don't get rap.


*Alicia Keyes and Usher. I can't say I listen to their music, but their performances were classy. They have obvious talent.


*Kathy Griffin coming out to present in a wedding gown.


*Ringo Starr introduced a clip of the Beatles that hadn't been seen in 40 years. I am a huge Beatles fan, I swear I've seen it, but then the Fab Four, as much as I like them, singing She Loves You in black and white with screaming twisting teenagers around them kinda looks the same no matter how many times it's filmed, you know? Jimmy K. took a hit when announced that the clip was "boring." Ew. Way to alienate an audience.


Ok, the biggest freak show moment, bigger even than the Divine Miss Ross, was Anna Nichloe Smith.



Plastered. Out of her mind. Not in control. No idea where she was. Got so distracted feeling herself up that she forgot she had lines to deliver. Trim Spa must be so proud to have their name adorn her neck during times like these. Her little stunt pretty much set the tone for the jokes for the rest of the evening. However, one of the benefits of being completely out of your mind is that you have no idea when you are being mocked. So, when I took a look at the publicity photos she posed for just after her fiasco on stage, it appears as though she just continued voguing, completely oblivious that this show was not about her and her body.

Well, another freak...I mean awards show, many more to come.


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
2 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter