My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Monday, Jun. 30, 2003 - 9:00 P.M.

What's Old?


I figure it's too late in the day to post my thoughts about the passing of Katherine Hepburn. I don't think she was a terribly versatile actress, but I think she was talented and I enjoyed the hell out of most of her movies, particularly Guess Who's Coming to Dinner. Of course I had a major hard on for Spencer Tracy, so she had that going for her. I can't think of a single thing to say that hasn't been said in all of the tributes, except that I can't think of another famous woman who could carry on a 28 year affair with a married man and come out smelling as clean as she did. Don't get me wrong, I don't begrudge that at all, but you have to admit, she NEVER had anyone publicly calling her a whore or a home wrecker. (note: I've read enough about Spencer Tracy to know that he was FAR from a saint, and that if anyone was a home wrecker, it was him, but I still think he was sexy).

So. I thought it might be fitting to give a little time to another old woman who passed this weekend. She could have been Kate's mom! Not that 96 is anything to sneeze at, really! But Cleo Dunaway Craig, of Marion, Illinois, died at 8:25 a.m. at Heartland Regional Medical Center at the ripe age of 113, after her fourth bout with pneumonia. She was the oldest living person in Illinois and the third oldest in the United States at the time of her death.

According to the Gerontology Research Group's web site, she was also the seventh oldest person in the world. She was one of 37 supercentenarians -- people who have lived to be more than 110 years old.

She was born in 1890 and graduated from Marion high school in 1908. She taught school for a short time the next year. She worked for the Marion Daily Republican in 1917 while her husband, Edgar, fought in World War I. After he returned from the war, she quit her job and spent most of her time as a homemaker. She and her husband attended the Chicago World's Fair in the 1930s. After he died in 1958, she attended fairs in Montreal and New York City. Her only child, Elizabeth, died at 55 in 1966 from lung cancer. No mother should ever have to bury her child.

Harrison was in office when she was born, and she lived through the terms of Cleveland, McKinley (twice), BOTH Roosevelts, Taft, Wilson (twice), Harding, Coolidge, Hoover, (ok, I mentioned FDR but remember he served for 12 freaking years, Eisenhower twice, Kennedy, Johnson, Nixon (1 3/4 terms), (Ford), Carter, Reagan twice, Bush, Clinton (unbelievable, but twice), and the OTHER Bush. That's a BUTTLOAD of presidents! I figure that by today's standards she would have voted in the Taft election, but I wonder if she did. I don't know what the laws were in Illinois, but it's quite possible that she didn't get to vote until she was 30! Ya think she voted for Cox over Harding?

Cleo Craig was likely the oldest fan of the Chicago Cubs, receiving an autographed photo of Hall of Fame Cubs shortstop Ernie Banks, otherwise known as "Mr. Cub." She also was around to remember the Cubs last World Series championship in 1908.Maybe she lived so long because every true Cub fan lives by the credo "Wait til next year." Maybe she was just WAITING! She previously attributed her long life to living healthy by not smoking or drinking alcohol.

I was going to post a picture of some wrinkled up old lady and make a few cracks about age, but I don't think she deserves that kind of send off. After all, she's completely overshadowed by the afore mentioned Hepburn. By the way, did you see an old woman in that picture up there, or a young woman? Perhaps in the healthiest of us, both co-exist.


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter