My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Sunday, Jul. 13, 2003 - 7:25 P.M.

My Slice of Mayberry


Last night we went up to my parent's house. Each year, the weekend after the 4th of July, we all gather there and walk up to watch the town's fireworks. It was a perfect night for it. Not hot, not cold, no wind. It was the nicest fireworks night we've had in memory. I was pretty much in hog heaven, sitting in my comfy folding chair nestled between my MOTH and my little brother. The nieces and nephews (including the newlyweds) were sitting on blankets in front of us old folks. We chatted as we waited for it to get dark enough to start. Just about life. MOTH stayed pretty quiet, just watching and savoring the sight of my brother sharing his thoughts about a particular person who has reappeared in his life. I caught him smiling once or twice, just a happy summer night smile. MOTH isn't a big fan of fireworks, he just loves the family gathering. I love the giant gold fireworks that trail and drip slowly all the way to the ground. Little brother particularly loves the big booming explosions. We were all kept pretty happy last night.

Today is the parade. It happens to go right past my parent's house, so again, we'll all gather there. Of course, I will cause us to be late which means we will have to wind all over the place to get around all of the parade participants and floats and dad will be standing at the top of the hill, on the porch stoop, anxiously checking his watch at 15 second intervals and fretting that we'll never get through. By the time we get there, he'll direct us into the past parking spot he's made on his lawn or up by the garage, since no one can park on the street (although late-comers WILL park on the street and he'll be driven mad by that!).

We'll be missing a few of the family this year. Finchie and Eldest took off this morning with Brother in law for North Carolina to participate in a Habitat for Humanity Project, their baseball mitts left behind, tossed carelessly beside the front door. They'll be with us in spirit.

After a week of rain and storms, the skies are blue today, and the high should be around 80 with almost no humidity. The grass is soft and bright green, and the flowers bright and tall. As we sit on the tree bank under the shade of the Magnolia and giant Oak trees, youngest niece will be out there with a bag, begging and catching and gathering all of the cheap crappy candy that they throw out. And when they don't throw any, I'll start begging too. Hey! I have to keep my status of favorite aunt! About 1/3 of the people in the parade will know my dad, and he makes a point of yelling out to each one, waving proudly. A lifetime of being a mailman in this town and now as school crossing guard and Ace Hardware Man (as well his work with National Night Out and other volunteer committees) has secured his place as one of our town's "Most Recognized Faces."

We'll all stand with each passing flag sandwiched between 30+ fire trucks and the street sweepers. We'll stand and applaud as our local soldiers march by. And when it's all over, we'll continue to sit and eat way too much food, and familiar faces that walk by will be invited to join us and eventually the nieces and nephews will engage in either a game of whiffle ball (using the trees as bases) or one of their famous rousing and never-ending games of "Careers," which was purchased a few years back at a garage sale for a quarter.

And a days' end, we'll hug each other and take hours to actually leave.

Mayberry is a state of mind, not geography.


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter