My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Monday, Dec. 20, 2004 - 10:39 P.M.

Let's Talk Music



A friend of mine has me thinking about music. I was asked recently about the music I listen to, and I was kind of shocked and a little bothered by the realization that as much as I love it, music has all but disappeared from my day to day life. Even most of my driving is done with talk radio playing. What the heck is up with that? I've gotten rid of all of my stereo equipment. I'd have to use a cheesy boom-box if I wanted to listen to anything these days. When (and why) did I do that?

My musical tastes have always been really rather eclectic. I have probably 200 or more CD's. Anyone trying to profile me based on that collection would likely wind up with schizophrenic as their finding. I buy CDs for several reasons. The first and least prevalent, is that I heard a song that I liked. I spend $10-$15 for one song because I usually don't like anything else on the cd. When I was a kid, I had a huge collection of 45's because even though an LP was a much better bargain, I tended to like single songs as opposed to an artist. So that's why you'll find Joan Osborn ("What if God Was One of Us"). More often, I buy a CD for a song and I find I like the sound of band, so then I get several CD's by the same artist (Cranberries, Ramones, Clannad, Ladysmith Black Mambazo).

Sometimes I fall in love with the sound so much I just have to buy everything: The Beatles (as a group and separate), Enya,Simon and Garfunkel, REM, and my very favorite of all time Neil Young.

I also buy soundtracks. I used to buy them more before VCRs. I am far too embarrassed to name all of what I've bought, but let's just say I only know one other person on the planet who owns the soundtrack to "Pajama Game." And "Once Upon a Mattress."

Ok, so wading through all of the music I own, what are my personal picks? What makes me move...or cry...or dance...

The Best Music In Video(Note that I am rating the MUSIC, not the video). Crying by k.d. lang and Roy Orbison. Holy toledo. This one takes my breath away. Her voice is not as powerful in any other song as it is in this one. I love the duet far better than I like Roy's solo version of it.

Only Song I'll Blow My Speakers For: Spirit in the Sky by Norman Greenbaum. I have no idea why, but I hear it and I am compelled to turn it to 11. I pretty much sing it at 11 also. Runner up: "Powderfinger" by Neil Young. Oh hell I can't say that. I'd ruin my speakers for either one of them.

Song That Makes Me Cry When Played Overhead In The Grocery Store: Only Time by Enya. This was my wedding processional. It made me cry when I first heard it, when I went down the aisle, and every time since.

Favorite Soundtrack Track: The Rose is Bette's finest vocal effort ever. Her live version of "When a Man Loves a Woman" is huge. But for sheer gut wrenching ecstasy, you have to sit and listen to her pain during "Stay With Me." The point of the song is that she is always the one to beg her man to stay with her, and she disparately wants someone to love her enough to give her the chance to be begged, isn't about time someone begs her to stay. But oh God, it's near the end...she screams, I mean primal screams "DON'T GO! PLEASE DON'T GO! DON'T GO!!!!!" and I catch myself in a sob every single time. I am so envious that she can capture the spinal pain of a broken heart with that song. I've heard her sing this during a different concert, maybe it's even on another of her albums, but it's only the one on this soundtrack that is perfect, she could only do it once. I am so freaking grateful that it was caught on tape.

Favorite Complete Album: It's a tie. Zuma by Neil Young. String together "stupid Girl," "Looking For a Love" and then endanger the speakers with "Hurricane." I mean, there is no better rock combo. Of course, the scent of sweet weed burning in the air only enhances the experience. I spent many many hours wailing around my dorm/apartment with this album. Yes, the White album and Sgt. Pepper's are also great, these are just personal, emotional favorites that just aren't as obvious or appreciated as anything the Beatles did, but no less great in terms of rock.

Perfect Album: Harvest Moon by Neil Young. Every song on this album defines his sound. "One of These Days," makes me teary. "You Are Such a Woman" is a song I always wanted a man to be able to sing about me. If MOTH were a singing man, he'd do it. Those are some of the most loving lyrics ever written. "Love is a healer, and I love you."

I used to listen to music all the time, ALL the time. I react to it, I cry to it. Maybe that's why I stopped, I'm not sure. But I know I want it back in my life.


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
3 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter