My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Thursday, Oct. 25, 2001 - 9:49 P.M.

On the Road


Well how-dee-doo! Miss me? I know Cosmicrayola missed me, she SAID so. Ok, no she didn't, but she DID wonder where I went! And, well, like I said, I ran away. Actually, it was more like MOTH hustling me away for some long overdue alone time. So we left plenty of money and our cell phone numbers on the kitchen table for the kids and we took off for 36 hours, safe in the knowledge that we had brought them up in such a way that they would behave...and also safe in the knowledge that they will squeal on each other in a heartbeat if they do anything out of line! (note: before anyone freaks on me, their dad is nearby, so are grandparents, aunts and uncles and church friends...not really leave them "alone.")

I love our road trips. It reminds me of a very special time we had, a very special 9 days we shared on the road quite a long time ago, when we thought we knew each other enough to know we wanted to be together forever. Turns out we were right, but we didn't know ANYTHING about each other then compared to now. Nothing will EVER compare to the magic of that trip, but every time we hit the road, I smile inside with pleasant memories.

We had about a 5 hour drive ahead of us. Our task was to go get us some of the best apple cider and apple pies known to man. Can't get em here near the city. No sir. We city folk don't grow apples the same way they do down state. Oh heck, I didn't care, the colors we at peak, the company was great.

About 2 hours out, the radio hazed out. I hate when that happens. MOTH hates it even more because first of all, he isn't really a radio fan to begin with. he prefers books-on-tape and they BORE me! So I hit the "scan" feature on the dashboard, and I listen to the radio much like I watch television. I am one mean surfing machine lemme tell ya! I like to sing when I'm in the car. Nothing makes a car-singer happier on a road trip than an oldies station. And there is ALWAYS an oldies station, no matter how far away you go. You can always find at least 3 bad Country and Western stations, and one oldies.

But in all of my travels, in all of my road-concerts, I have NEVER heard a station like this. It claimed to be an oldies station, but I don't think they understand the concept. Maybe it's me. But isn't the idea not so much that the songs are OLD but that they are FAMILIAR? I mean, isn't that the appeal of an "oldies" station? That you listen to songs once popular, possibly forgotten, but at least familiar?

Would you think I was exaggerating if I said that this guy actually played not one, not two, but THREE songs in the same hour by Sly and the Family Stone?????? I thought "Everybody is a Star" was an odd choice. "Dance to the Music" was a startling reminder of just how BAD the Family Stone was. "Stand" was just....crap. What really struck me was that their most popular and recognizable song was probably "Everyday People." Bet you guessed that they never played that one. After the Sly tribute, we listened to another song we had never heard. The voice was really familiar though. When it was over, we found out that it was Stevie Wonder. FREAKING STEVIE! I HATE Stevie Wonder, but I'm guessing he had to easily have had at least 30 songs in the top 10 in his career. I guess they didn't have those records there. Never heard of "Jenny Lee" either. Brilliant lyrics: Oh Jenny...Jenny...Jenny...Jenny...Jenny...Jenny (I'm not sure where the "Lee" came in).

Despite the grotesque play list, I think MOTH enjoyed himself, especially when I screeched along with Frankie Vallie.... OooohWOOooh ooh ooh ooh ooh oooooh, ooh oooooooh. OooohWOOooh ooh ooh ooh ooh oooooh! ~quick switch to bass voice~ (He said) ~Sudden soprano screech~ WALK LIKE A MAN! TALK LIKE A MAN! WALK LIKE A MAN MY SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOON! OooohWOOooh ooh ooh ooh ooh oooooh, ooh oooooooh. OooohWOOooh ooh ooh ooh ooh oooooh!

Thank you. Thank you very much.


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter