My Most Recent Post All of my older posts Email me Leave me a message! Read my diary profile Get your own!

DON'T BLAME ME!

Leave me a note!


My Most Recent Entries:

King B.O.

How It Should Be Done

I Didn't Vote for Him

New Math?

VOTE 2008!


My Online Photo Albums:
(This site has been closed. IbeLooking
for a new place. Stay tuned.)


Other Places I'd like you to visit:

All my stuff

She is my daughter!

JohnnieV, a Sensitive Father.

Cosmicrayola, my cyber sister

MKM's Words, a friend whom I admire.

BillF has an opinion or 2.

My Jazzy friend with international flair.

Uncle Bob, the 1st blog I ever read.





*HUGS* TOTAL! give IbePiglet more *HUGS*
Get hugs of your own

If you want to know how it all began, click HERE for the FIRST entry. At the top of each post you can click "NEXT ENTRY" and so on. It might make a bit more sense that way, and you might stumble upon one of my better postings in case this one sorta just sucks!
Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

CLICK HERE for a RANDOM ENTRY.


Monday, Jul. 01, 2002 - 9:19 P.M.

The SanFrancisco Treat

When and why did the tradition of throwing shit at the bride and groom as they exited the church come about? I tried to find out about the tradition, but pretty much came up answerless. As far back as I can remember, we used to throw rice. Now when I was younger and I went to weddings, we brought our OWN rice! We brought a whole freaking BOX of it. Lots of people did, and then you'd share with those who didn't have the foresight to bring their own post-nuptial weapon. But what's the reason? What's the motivation? Who the hell really cares, it always seemed like good fun.

Over the past decade or so, rice died out, and all kinds of substitutions came about. Bubbles, balloons, bird seed, confetti, and even butterflies! MOTH and I really wanted a blend of old wedding tradition and new and unique ideas. I don't like the balloon launching when the bride and groom exit the church. I don't know, it just seems kind of...I don't know...pointless? I don't think I like the idea of bubbles either, we're not bubble types. I wanted something hurled at us, and I didn't want a head full of bird seed or confetti. Butterflies just seem too risky. I mean, what if they all arrive in the mail dead or something?

I asked our pastor if we could have rice, and he said yes. Since I figured no one would be expecting that, and to add a bit of "portion control" for our safety, my mom and sister made little rice packets for each guest that my niece and nephew gave out as the guests exited. Before we came out, Pastor stuck his head out to make sure they were all ready for us.

You know why people don't throw rice at weddings anymore?

Is it because it is bad for birds? HELL NO! Who the hell ever made that crap up about birds exploding if they eat rice? Anyway, nooooo, that's not the reason.

Is it because over zealous guests throw it too soon and too far and it winds up getting in the church? Well, no...and yes. It has nothing to do with how soon the guests throw it...but it does wind up going down into your clothing, filling your bra, so that when you go back into the church for pictures of the reception, it escapes and sprinkles out of your clothing and hair and leaves little trails everywhere you go (for the next several days, I swear). But that's not why the custom of rice has been largely abandoned.

So WHY have people stopped the practice of throwing rice at weddings? BECAUSE IT FREAKING HURTS, THAT'S WHY!

I know I know...I need to update more often...but you know I am busy being a blushing bride, I had about 30 loads of laundry to wash, dry, iron, fold/hang, and put away, 6 suitcases to unpack, souvenirs to distribute, gifts to open (those of you who are due thank you cards, please be patient, they will be out shortly), bridal showers to attend (my baby sister is getting married in August), and then #1 had to pull some of his shenanigans so that has taken more time than I am willing to ever give him again....Oh yeah, and I have lost 5 of the 7 pounds I put on during the honeymoon. That post is coming up soon too, so check back!
TODAY'S QUOTE

"OW!"

*Mr. and Mrs. MOTH*


The Digital Bastard's Claim as of 6/15/02:

Beginning Weight: 204.5

Goal #1: 184 (Met 5/19/02)

Goal #2: 164.5

I hope to meet my final target by May 1, 2003


Won't you PLEASE leave your feedback here?
0 readers left their mark on this one!

TagBoard
Name

URL or Email

Messages(smilies)


Read the previous entry - Read the next entry

Who's Who in Ibe's Diary (last UPDATED September 21, 2008)


If you would like to be notifed each time this page is updated, stick your email addy in the form and click on "join."

Your email address:

Site Meter